We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, compassionate, transportation provided”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
IL cornfields
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Safe, compassionate, transportation provided”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Needing a place to call home while visiting a patient at the VA or Iowa City Hospital? This was a perfect solution for us. The breakfast is pretty good! We did not eat at the other meal times but did enjoy the warm cookies in the evenings. A shuttle runs every half hour until 8 p.m. during weekdays and 5 p.m. weekends. The drivers were so compassionate. Hotel staff was also courteous and flexible. We needed to stay an extra night and book a handicapped accessible room due to a snow event that prevented us from going home and they were efficient and helpful. If you want "luxurious," this isn't it. Our room was a bit too toasty and we battled the heater a bit, but no big deal. But if you need clean, friendly, safe and accessible because you want to concentrate on the wellness of a family member, this is a wise choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Junebug 327,

Thank you so much for all of the kind compliments. We really do try to provide a nice environment at a reasonable price, especially for our hospital patients. I will pass the positive compliments along to our shuttle drivers as well. You are so correct in your assessment of our shuttle drivers, they are just so thoughtful and caring. AND, they have a pretty demanding schedule with the every 1/2 hour runs. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some warm cookies....they are so tasty!! Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Stay warm this winter!! Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    57
    40
    14
    23
See reviews for
82
41
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here after an Iowa basketball game. Location can't be beat. We were able to walk to Carver Hawkeye Arena. There are many restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel itself is no more than a 2 star. Room was clean but can tell it has had some raucous party-goers. There have been some updates to the room including the desk and night stands. Decor otherwise is dated. There was no room safe.

The halls were quite dirty with empty water bottles and actually saw some vomit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BocciCrazedIowans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Bocci Crazed Iowan,

Thank you for reviewing the Heartland Inn. I agree, the location is great for Haweye fans!! We do enjoy accommodating large amounts of Hawkeye fans for all of the various sports!!! AND, the good news is that if you are on a budget, we are a great value!

Also, I am glad that you noticed our recent updates. I do want to apologize for the condition of the hallway. I think that you were probably a guest here on New Year's Eve. Unfortunately, New Year's Eve does not bring out the best in some people's judgment on many levels....as you witnessed in the hallway.

So. Bocci Crazed Iowa, thank you again for you recent stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again. We promise a clean room and a clean hallway!!

Happy New Year!!
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were pretty impressed with how clean this hotel was. The bathroom was clean, clean, even in the corners of the floor and shower, where we usually find mold or at best, brown icky stuff! Towels and linens were plentiful. We thought the carpet needed some cleaning, but the room smelled clean. Great TV, no dust on furniture, updated lamps and furniture..

We were asked what floor we wanted and the desk clerks were all young and helpful. Good customer service. Fresh cookies the night we arrived.

We chose this from hotels.com because I searched for hotels with tempurpedic beds....Heartland did not have those, but did have pillow-tops that were just as comfortable.

It was way below zero outside, yet we did not have drafts, so that was good. The hotel is centrally located and we had no trouble finding our way around. There were lots of restaurants around the hotel.

The hotel sits pretty much in the middle of Iowa City/Coralville and I would stay here again when I come back to Iowa.

There was a bettter-than-continental-breakfast with even gravy and biscuits and freshly made pancakes. Coffee was fresh [would rather have had real half and half, but it was okay]

Room Tip: Rooms close to front desk are rather noisy. We just turned the air on and drowned out the late revel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieMcDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you Melanie!!
How wonderful to read such a great review!! Our housekeeping staff puts every effort .... and then some ....into keeping the hotel super clean and we are so glad that you noticed. I do apologize for the carpet . That room had very recently been shampooed, so I will have to double check our carpet shampooer. (Perhaps it is not working at it's capacity)
I am glad that you enjoyed our great breakfast.....it is a good way to start the day!! I also hope that you did get a fresh cookie!! They taste as yummy as they smell!
The very best compliment that you could ever give us is to return
to stay with us again sometime!!
Happy New Year and thank you again for the fabulous review.!!

Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Last weekend we stayed at the Heartland for a basketball game vs. Penn Friday and a football game vs. Michigan on Saturday. This is the best property without question for out-of-towners wanting to see Iowa basketball or football. You can even walk! We walked to Carver Hawkeye Arena no problem. On the way to the arena there is are restaurant/bars Old Chicago, The Vine Tavern, as well as Wig and Pen. Conclusion: the location cannot be beat.

As far as the room, I would say that it was a good room. My only complaint was the damn toilet would not flush unless you held down on the flush lever. The room was clean and well appointed with a large flat screen TV and also a refrigerator.

As far as the breakfast, well, it was free. They had biscuits and gravy and the biscuits were nearly frozen, even after the hot gravy sat on top of them. There was also yogurt, fruit, cereal, etc, which were good but the biscuits and gravy were disappointing.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this property when I visit my alma mater; we will be back again soon!

Room Tip: Our room was near the lobby on the third floor which worked out well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Bearfan78,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!! Our location is definitely unbeatable, not just for our guests, but for our staff as well. It is so much fun to have Hawkeye fans stay with us for all of the various sporting events throughout the year. (as well as the "other" fans) We feel that we have the greatest bunch of guests in town!!
I do apologize for the toilet issue...just be sure to let us know any time that you have a problem with your room and we will have the problem corrected as soon as possible.
Yikes, we try never to serve frozen biscuits.....obviously, we need to make some adjustments to our breakfast preparation routine!! Thank you for letting us know of the problem.
The very best compliment that we can ever receive is for a guest to return for more stays, so we definitely appreciate the fact that not only you would recommend us to other travelers, but also that you will stay with us again in the future.
Thank you again!!
Debbie B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not sure why the entrances are filled with people smoking day and night. The smell lingers and the hotel hallways and carpet are not clean. Busy property and full parking lot except on weekend. Granite sinks and flat panel TVs but the rest of the room and bathroom were rundown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIFamilyTraveler555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I would like to apologize for the other guests smoking outside the hotel. Since we do not allow smoking inside the hotel, guests really don't have a choice , but to smoke outside. The good news is that they are not smoking in the rooms. We do have several contractors staying here, building the new Children's Hospital, and unfortunately, with the rain last week, they track in an inordinate amount of dirt/mud from the jobsite. We do try to keep on top of their tracking in and out....but, I must admit, some days it is a losing battle. I do apologize. Again, thank you so very for your feedback and for staying with us!!! We appreciate it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Heartland Inn was a God send for my husband and I as we underwent treatments at the University of Iowa Hospital! Reasonable rates, great food, shuttle service, coffee is allways on, friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, just can't beat it! It's been our home away from home for 3 months. THANK YOU HEARTLAND INN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Donna,

Thank for your recent review!!! We appreciate the positive feedback!! I am glad that you stayed with us!!! We strive to make our hospital guests as comfortable as possible. I am so happy that we were able to make your stay feel like home!!! We do receive many compliments on the convenience of our shuttle, especially since it runs every 1/2 hour all day long. We also appreciate the compliments regarding the clean rooms and friendly staff....it is fabulous to have our efforts noticed!!! We wish you the best on your Husband's recovery!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed on business during the University of Iowa's Homecoming. As fans of the visiting team, we were treated incredibly well and appreciated the hospitality. Check-in was smooth, and each of our room guests received courtesy calls to make sure that everything with the room was up to standard. Room was clean, well cared for, and plenty comfortable.

The property itself is a little dated, but for the rate you'll pay it's more than a good value. Great place to stay if you're a no frills type of guest that expects to be well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmaurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Vic,
Thank you for your recent review. We really appreciate the feedback!! We do enjoy our sports fans, they make our weekends fun!!! I am happy that your stay with us was a comfortable one!! As you noted, we take good care of our guests and provide a good value at the same time!! We look forward to providing quality accommodations for you the next time your team travels our way!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#14 of 21 in Coralville
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing