We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a "Normal" Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Springtown
2 reviews
“NOT a "Normal" Motel”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is more for long-term residents. I didn't see *anybody* else bring luggage. One guy was napping on a couch just inside, a desk lady was processing ?medical paperwork for someone, other folks were being served a hotdog supper in a soup-kitchen-like fashion. The room was fine. The people working seemed very nice. It just was still uncomfortable to me. Also, it is non-smoking inside, but dozens of folks blocked the entrances smoking by every door. The parking lot had lots of workman trucks and local people cars, not the packed minivans of travellers. It just was NOT normal! But, if this is what you need at a juncture of life, I am sure they would welcome you. Bless them.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We do a certain amount of long term stays, due to our proximity to the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics and the Veterans Hospital. Many guests require long term stays, however not all. Some of our guest are like yourself and only stay a night or two. We do welcome a variety of guests....from hospital guests to guests working in the area to folks just passing thru the area. I guess I don't know what a" normal" traveler would be. We do offer a complimentary grill out every Wednesday night as well as light dinners other nights. Our guests really appreciate the extra amenities we offer, especially the fresh baked cookies!!! We are 100% smoke free, but, do allow smoking outside the building. We are welcoming to all guests and hope that you will try us again sometime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    40
    12
    21
See reviews for
77
39
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed over on way to Des Moines, got room for $40 on hot-wire and it was worth it. Yes it is old and in need of updating, but it was quiet and comfortable enough. Needed new pillows, gave us neck aches, but bed was nice. Went for a swim at 11 pm which was a nice way to wind down after road trip, again needed updating but was nice enough. The seem to talk a lot about 'non smoking', but we walked through clouds of smoke in the hallways on our way to the pool, so I don't think it was enforced. Breakfast was honestly the worst hot/cold breakfast we had in years, need to revamp it some too. But free is for me. :) over all was worth exactly what we paid for it and would use it again.

Room Tip: Ask for river side room for less noise from late night restaurants.ask for extra pillows, bring own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetMecGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your opinion. We recently completed installing all new furniture in the rooms. So, we are continually updating and making upgrades. If your travels should bring you our way again, please just request extra pillows or different pillows, we are more than able to accommodate your needs. I am thinking that perhaps you missed our breakfast?? That is an area that we get many positive comments in ....guests love our made to order fresh hot waffles or pancakes. Plus, the fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, English muffins and biscuits/gravy are solid hits as well. We are 100% smoke free, we do allow smoking outside of the building and do our very best to enforce that at all times. I hope that your travels will bring you our way again. Again, thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff help us checkin quickly and get different rooms because I didn't book correct number of guests and we needed two beds in each room(2 rooms). The staff was really accommodating. Rooms were a bit small in this dated, but clean hotel. Breakfast was an expanded continental buffet, mediocre at best. I wouldn't want to spend my vacation here, but it was clean, quiet, had courtesy staff, and was an outstanding value booked through hotwire.com

I will stop here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know how your stay with us was!! Thank you for noticing our excellent housekeeping staff....they do keep us clean and tidy!!! At Heartland Inn, we strive to provide the best customer service possible and we appreciate you noticing the accommodating staff. We do hope that you will stop by again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Green, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I have been staying off and on since 2008. At one stretch almost a year due to his job. We have traveled extensive and thus far this is the best hotel yet. The management and staff make the stay like none other. Where can you get free shuttle, breakfast, and evening meal with Wed. night being a cookout...all included with your room! After our last stay a thank you card almost beat us home. What other hotel does that? It is very clean, new furniture and new carpeting thru out. It is also close to some great shopping, what a bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have a great view of the river but I also like the front to see so I can see what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your positive review!!! We certainly appreciate the feedback!! We do try to make you feel right at home. AND, thank you for noticing the new furnishings!! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the great breakfast we offer and the grill out too!! It is just so rewarding to make guests feel at home!!! We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was easy to find and very clean. The check in was quick and efficient.

The directions to the elevator was vague, so I ended up dragging my suitcase back and forth down the hall until someone took pity on me and showed me where the elevator was located. No sign showing, so for you info, it is past the side entrance and halfway down the hall on the right side.

They offered ham and cheese sandwiches for the evening meal. Just OK Breakfast was better with a little guy that was a cleaning fool. He was all over the place cleaning up the messes and cooking the pancakes.

The room offered a little fridge and microwave in the room. Very handy for more than one night stays.

They offer free rides to the hospitals too. Nice service for people with family members who are ill or recovering.

I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Good luck finding the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugarfoot45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the time I called in for reservations with Eric, and I checked in..everyone gave the BEST customer service. We were welcomed with smiles and I hope your drive was okay, to a wonderful Wednesday Night BBQ of Hot Dogs, Brats and Burgers on the grill. One of the wonderfull ladies printed of the TV schedual for my girls, and another Lady Told me how to Contact the Vital Records department.EVERYONE I came into contact with gave some of the best customer service I have ever seen. Working in Customer Service myself, I noticed how they all went out of there way to make my stay better. As Visiting the Hospital is not stressful enough, having not to worry about my stay was a HUGE relief..Definatly will stay again and recommened to all who go to Iowa City to stay here....

Thanks Heartland Inn.. SallyWohlstadter and Girls...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westside, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for my cousins wedding, and opted for the Jacuzzi suite since it was only a bit more than the standard room. WONDERFUL full sized Jacuzzi! The bedding however was less wonderful. Flat pillows and our blanket had a whole in it. Contental breakfast was wonderful.. They even had an attendant making fresh pancakes and waffles. They also served soup in the lobby which I thought was a nice touch! If we go to Iowa City again we'd probably stay here

Room Tip: Go for the jacuzzi! It was worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Ashley,

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed the whirlpool suite!! The suites are definitely the way to go!! I do apologize for the bedding issues. We are anxious to correct any problems you might encounter during your stay, should you travel our way again, please just let one of our Guest Services Representatives know and the problem will be addressed immediately. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the fresh pancakes and waffles.....I agree, they are yummy!! We hope to see you again in the near future!!
Thank You!!
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing