We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Inn - Coralville
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Coralville
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Normally, while on business in Iowa City, I stay in a different hotel. However, this time, my reservations had been made by someone else. I was unsure of the new arrangement but was nicely surprised after the 3 nights. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. I was also surprised with a hot tub, though the situation of the tub in the room was a bit odd. The full breakfast was surprising and welcom.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coquette07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    57
    40
    13
    22
See reviews for
79
40
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is an ok hotel if you need to stay for a short visit e.g. to go to IOWA Univ. Nothing exceptional, but good for the price. Not many good restaurants around. Very friendly staff and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibylla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I have been to this Heartland Inn on two different occasions now, and I'm happy to say that we'd gladly come back in a heartbeat. We booked rooms here for guests for our wedding back in April, and their service was just fantastic. The staff has always been very personable and accommodating. In fact, the last night I stayed, I got a call from the desk just asking if the room was working out for us. The rooms were clean and cozy on both occasions. I couldn't ask for better...you won't regret your stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Calvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel locks up a bunch of drunk drivers for the weekend for reprogramming. Hopefully you won't be mistaken for one of them when you are trying to have a good time minding your own business with drink in hand as you go to a friend's room. If you do, Paul Blart will make sure you know he is in charge. Also, there were bugs crawling around on the night stand and someone left their shoes under the bed. Too bad they were ugly and not my size.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uialum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Must have been an old travel lodge that was run down and unloaded. It has a new coat of paint and that is the best thing I can say. My room and the room of my friend were the same. The mattresses were wore out--hard for me to find a spot where a spring did not poke me. The mattresses were nasty and covered with a sheet so thin you could read a newspaper through it--really. There is no closet. The walls are so thin you can here conversations on the other side. The hotel was very noisy because it was filled with kids there for all types of sporting events. Ask the lady about it at the front desk the next morning-- normal for the summer months. Every time a kid open/closed a door it rattled my walls--not fun at 1:30 in the morning when I had a 14 hour day of work the next day. A breakfast was provided but it was disgusting--tons of rude kids barging in front of you, sticking their hands on everything, coughing over food. The hallways are not cooled and the insulation is so thin in the rooms that the window air conditioners have a hard time keeping up.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Rory,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that we were able to connect by phone so I could discuss your stay with you personally. As I told you, we are so very sorry about the problems you encountered during your stay. We are in the middle of a renovation and a few rooms are not yet completed. The Heartland Inn has always been a Heartland Inn and we hope to always maintain our own independent identity. We are a busy hotel in the summer and thoroughly enjoy hosting a broad cross section of guests. Typically, we get quite the oppposite comment about noise , with guests stating how very unsually quiet we are. However, obviously, there are always exceptions to anything typical! I am so very sorry that you were not able to enjoy our ample breakfast ... ....kids are usually pretty eager to devour food, especially at a certain age!! Again, thank you for the feedback, we truly appreciate it!!

Sincerely,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Heartland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My room was extremely clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. My room had a new, big, flat screen,the shower had great pressure and there was plenty of room. That is all I ask for!However, if you want 'new', this isn't the place. The decor is a tad '80's. I have no issue with the floral maroon bed spreads. If you look at the pictures on line, that is exactly what you get. No surprises.If you want comfort at a great price, this is the place. And they have free breakfast which was great. The staff was very nice but then again I think everyone is nice in Iowa. For the two nights I stayed, there wasn't one person standing outside smoking so I think Mike P may have just been there on a night that hosted a people for an event. That could have happenned at the Four Seasons so don't hold that against The Heartland. This is a family friendly hotel which was evident with all the families having breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Shannon,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with Heartland Inn. We appreciate the compliments!! I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of your room. We have an excellent team in our housekeeping department and they strive to insure that every guest has a great experience with us. You are right, we are a tad '80-ish, but the really good news is that we are doing extensive remodeling this year. So, the next time you are a guest at Heartland Inn, we will have had a face-lift!!!
I will pass your great comments along to all of the staff here at Heartland Inn!!
Thank you again for being our guest!!
Sincerely,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Heartland Inn
Coralville, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We chose Heartland Inn - Coralville after reading the reviews. The biggest perk for us was the proximity to UIHC and the shuttle service to UIHC. That was our reason for being in the area and that was HUGE for us. We were VERY happy with everything. The Room was so nice and breakfast was really good. This will definitely be our choice if we need to come again. What a GEM!! It's close to anything you might need and we were THRILLED with the choice. We would recommend booking directly with the hotel. They can save you money. (The only negative thing I can say is that the shower curtain needs to have magnets on the bottom so it sticks to the tub and not to you!! )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Ann,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Many of our guests, just like you, are here for appointments at the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics. We make every effort to insure that all of our guests receive great customer service and a very, very clean room. I am so glad that you were able to use our free hospital shuttle service. We feel that the shuttle service with it's expanded times is a real plus for our hospital guests. Ann, again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit with us!!

Sincerely,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Heartland Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coralville
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
0.9 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#13 of 20 in Coralville
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Property: Heartland Inn - Coralville
Address: 87 2nd St, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing