We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Coralville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
AmericInn Coralville
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Niles, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

I purposefully chose this hotel because of the suite with the closing doors and two tvs.
After we put our two year old twins to bed in the living room area we were excited to
be able to watch a little tv. Unfortunately, the bedroom area had no tv. Ugh! When I inquired about it the next day they said, 'Oh. That room doesn't have 2 tvs?' The maintenance man confirmed and all I got was 'Sorry about that'. I can't believe they didn't give us a heads-up when we checked in...or that they didn't have a temporary tv to put in it's place. I'm not a huge tv person, but with the kids, it's quite a luxury these days.
Other than that, the rooms were quite roomy and met all of our expectations and needs.
The breakfast was good and the pool area was pretty clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlouib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    43
    45
    52
See reviews for
114
51
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have stayed here many many times before. Not overly fancy, but clean and satisfactory and reasonable charges. Stayed in early March 2012 and management seems to have changed... Prices were different. Customer service felt different. Room felt kind of musty and not as well kept up. Not sure they quite know what they're doing yet. For example, we inadverdantely left something in the room. Called within 24 hours and they said they had it and would send it. 3 weeks and 6 phone calls later, and it's not here. No one who has authority is in or even calls us back. Feels kind of suspicious. New kind of cost saving measures? Don't plan on going back for awhile. The learning curve seems to be too steep for them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel had all the basics you need--complementary breakfast, nice pool and larger hot tub, room fridge and microwave, flat screen t.v, comfortable, clean bed, and a location near the mall and off I-80, easy enough to get to campus. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was frequently- and well-stocked. Coffee was fine. Looked like they had recently done remodeling, and were still in the process. So, a lot of stuff looked pretty new, just a cheaper quality. But that was fine for our purposes, since this was cheaper than a lot of Iowa City hotels. A lot of them are pretty dumpy, and this one was definitey above average. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkel-luvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Staff was friendly at check-in and check-out. Room was clean. Not very sound proof as we could hear people talking like they were right in the room with us. Very satisfied and would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntwelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Near I 80. Used Hotel coupon. Good value. The 4 on cleanliness relates to grout...always a challenge.
Very satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaraLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

It's always something:
This time, it started with being given a room with no chair and no comforter. The desk clerk explained that all of the furninshings were being changed and the new furniture had not yet arrived, even though the old furniture had been removed. He also explained that "Corporate" had gone to a "simple triple sheet" comforter. The room we were given didn't even have that, so he assigned us a different room and brought one of the old chairs in, but he didn't record the changes. At midnight, we were surprised by the night clerk who simply tried to walk into the room (thankfully, we had secured the door, so he didn't get all the way in). I explained the situation and he apologized for not knocking before coming in.
The next morning, my key didn't work and the clerk apologized for not re-keying the cards after he had made his own to get in (which cancelled my keys immediately)
We were here from Wednesday to Sunday, so we relied on the housekeeping staff to replenish supplies. Mistake. Had to go down to the desk to get coffee, creamer and sugar.
Overall, the people were very friendly, but disorganized.
I will stay here again, but check several things when I do.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kings_on_the_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley, Iowa 50483
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

They screwed me twice. They have a 2 night minimum stay on Iowa Football game weekends. We knew this and booked two rooms for two families. I arrived a day early on Thursday eve and checked into my families room and told the clerk that the other family would be arriving Sat. morning and we all knew we had to pay for two night minimum. (Three for me as I checked in a day early.) The clerk made sure our rooms would be together etc. Sat morning, when our friends arrived, they had no room for them. The manager would not talk to us or meet with us. We had confirmations numbers but it didn't matter. On top of this they are charging us for one of the nights for our friends room.
We've argued over the phone with the general manager, Rica, but she has no business sense and takes no responsibility for the mess up. A good manager would make things right and apologize. The end result is that I'm paying for 4 nights stay and was there 3 nights, and our fun stay with friends was ruined. We are quite angry!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coralville hotels
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Coralville
Comfort Suites Coralville
#8 of 18 in Coralville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#9 of 18 in Coralville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Coralville

Property: AmericInn Coralville
Address: 2597 Holiday Rd, Coralville, IA 52241-2781
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AmericInn Coralville Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing