We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a fun place to visit for the young and young at heart.”

Iowa Children's Museum
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its a fun place to visit for the young and young at heart.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My little girl loved the music room and dad liked flying the planes. It was much larger inside than expected with lots to do and see. Its a must visit for any one with young kids.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    32
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good outing for the kids, especially the under 6 crowd.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located on one side of the mall, gives you lots of options for part of the family to go to the museum and the other part to go shopping. LOVE that there is an ice skating rink there too!! You could do a day of activities there and never leave the mall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just another children's museum”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was fun but not big. My older sons, age 9½ and 7, were bored but did play almost the entire time. My daughter, 2, was in heaven.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Restillsammans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My daughter loves it”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is the perfect place for families with young children. Kids can enjoy permanent exhibits such as grocery store, bank, pizzeria, and clinic. There is also an air themed portion to the museum that includes flight simulators, stationary pedal airplanes, and more. This museum has a number of interactive activities for kids all ages. There is a music room, arts and crafts room, and a physics room. Upstairs there is a large lego room, a model train exhibit and other rotating exhibits.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la belle, mo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“thought it would be a small little place (it is in the mall)”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was a very pleasant surprise!! The kids loved it. The workers were extremely nice!! They have a grocery store where the kids can shop and "pay". They also have little shopping lists if you kids are older and don't just want to take things off the shelves. The art room was a hit too. Kids can pick anything and make anything. The options are endless! The playroom and aviation room were very impressive! We were in the museum for about 2.5 hours and then decided to go eat lunch and do some shopping (it was taxfree weekend). We were able to come and go as long as we wore our museum pass stickers. I was able to do some shopping while my husband took my kids (3 and 7 yrs) back to the museum. They spent another 2 hours playing in the doctor's office, bank, dress-up room, music room, farm room, lego room, reading room. Even my 1 yr old had a blast filling up his shopping cart and playing in the ball room. It was a great experience and my 3 yr old and 1 yr old didn't make it out of the parking lot awake

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hilesLaBelle_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iowa Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Iowa Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing