We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love their potato soup”
Review of Bennigan's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bennigan's
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: Bennigan's restaurant and bar at Coral Ridge Mall just of I-80 in Coralville / Iowa City is an upbeat and relaxing place to kick back and experience 
the genuine spirit of Irish Hospitality! Enjoy craveable, crowd-pleasing food, ice cold beers,
specialty drinks and wines. Our restaurant offers longtime Bennigan's favorites like our Kilkenny’s Country Chicken Wrap and decadent Monte Cristo with innovative new American fare selections and famous Burgers! Check out our daily Food and Drink Specials!
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I love their potato soup”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant makes the best potato soup. I like eating here, but as in all of my experiences, the food is huge portions. The food is hot and it is good. I would recommend eating here. Our grandchildren like it, too. They do offer children's portions, which is good. Carolyn H

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
2 reviews
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a 16 hour drive from utah and settled in at are hotel room we noticed a sign in the elevator for 15% off are meal Food was awesome and the waitress was very good and helpful Great place for a meal

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ken o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really awful; we'll never go there again.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were at the Coral Ridge mall and thought we'd try something a little bit different, as we hadn't been to Bennigan's in ages. The poor waitress was completely overworked - but managed to provide us with good service nonetheless.

The found was lousy. I ordered a pasta dish with chicken and vegetables. There were some tiny pieces of vegetables. The sauce was poorly seasoned. My husband's food wasn't any better. Don't waste your money - there are so many better choices. We'll never go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cappy38020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“average menu choices, average service”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we stopped there once while in the mall. i was very suprised with the lack of service and hospitality. I really thought bennigan's would have a good choice of food. looked great on the menu.
i would not recommend, spend a few extra bucks and hit the red lobster around the corner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radioactive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large quantities, mediocre quality. . .”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Let me start by saying that Bennigan's food isn't bad. It's fair to middlin'. The interior is dark to the point of being dismal. The faux Irish pub decore is a little tired and depressing. Their burgers are quite good. They used to have a special on Wednesday with burgers about 2 bucks cheaper. Thought that was a decent deal. Came back about two Wednesdays later and it was a "no go." Sorry, we don't do that anymore.

The most recent time there we had another burger with sweet potato fries which were decent if you told them to leave off the sugar and cinnamon. Their fries are decent. Their beef patties are cooked to order and probably the best thing here; you probably wouldn't be disappointed if you stuck to those. The fish and chips looked huge but when you scraped off the tons of greasy undercooked breading it really didn't leave all that much. The coleslaw was delicious.

Meh. It's OK is you're at the mall and craving a burger.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennigan's also viewed

 
Coralville, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing