We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service and Rude waitress:(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Texas Roadhouse is a steak restaurant providing legendary food with legendary service. Texas Roadhouse specializes in hand-cut steaks, fresh-baked bread, fall-off-the-bone-ribs, and made-from-scratch sides. We also serve ice cold beer and legendary margaritas. Treat your family and friends to a night at Texas Roadhouse.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Rude waitress:(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Several things made this the last time we will eat at this Texas Roadhouse. After we ordered another person brought out our food but they were behind on the baked potatoes, so they told us they would bring them out in just a couple if minutes.....they never came. Waitress never refilled our drinks or brought another basket if rolls. Caught a completely different person walking by and asked for steak sauce and they never returned with any. TERRIBLE SERVICE! When our waitress came with the bill I asked if she deducted the potatoes we never received....she was so rude! Said they didn't charge extra so why would we do that? I informed her the steaks came with 2 sides for the price I paid and we received 1 side only. She could have cared less! I will never eat here again and would never recommend this place to anyone. There's a new Cheddars just down the street I would go there instead!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzle930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

The servicer was fantastic.......the food we had was absolutely wonderful! Prime rib done to perfection, chicken was yummy with just the right amount of bbque sauce......great food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vickie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A late bite hit the spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

After a year-end shopping trip involving way too many stores, we walked out of Bed, Bath & Beyond only to see that the sun had set, it was dark,, and cold. Rather than drive the 40 minutes to get home, we found that the Roadhouse was luring us in to get a quick dinner, rather than prepare, serve and clean up after dinner at home.
We usually share an entrée, and ordered the mid-sized house sirloin, medium-rare, with a potato and a Caesar salad. After a few peanuts, a glass of beer and some country-rock tunes on the sound system, our food arrived, hot and steamy. Now, this chain does have a set way of doing things, from the greeting upon entering, to the hot rolls (always a fav!), to the seasoning on the meat and potatoes. Everything was cooked to order, as ordered, with lots of flavor and the correct temperature. Yes, it can get a little loud in there, but if you don't mind the music and the echo of the acoustics, you really can't argue about the food. It was tasty, filling and satisfying. We go to one of the half-dozen or so versions of the same process about every quarter or so. I must say, we haven't been disappointed yet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heartlandchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service too slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We went there for lunch on a Saturday during the holidays. The wait staff looked and acted tired and slow, our drinks were never refilled. My wife order the pull pork sandwich and it was totally dry to the point that was hard to swallow, Steak fries were greasy, and soggy. This was our first visit to this restaurant, I certainly expected better service from Texas Roadhouse. Attention to detail matters, but I guess it didn’t matter to them during our visit. Service wasn't rude. Place seemed relatively clean. Dining area was a little noisy, but didn't interfere with the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hopefully Just a Bad Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I am hoping this was just a bad night for Texas Roadhouse....If not I am hoping it just pertains to this Texas Roadhouse and not the rest. As the picture below will show the night started out wrong right after we were seated. We were taken to our table within minutes of our arrival and received fresh rolls, end of the good. After 12 minutes of waiting for our server and watching others who arrived after we did get waited on and after I got up to ask for someone to wait on us Cathy arrived with a cheerful hello....Before this we watched Cathy sit down and have a very nice and long discussion with who I will call a good friend or her grandma. Cathy wanted to just take our drink orders but I insisted that she take our food order as well. Cathy was either over friendly or was just mocking me after I had to hunt her down. Food arrived cold and over cooked....very sad. I refused to send our order back due to the fact I feel if we did and as history has shown, it would have been worse than before. After telling Cathy about our displeasure she smilied and asked if we would like to buy a gift card...We did not. Please post if you go and you have better luck than we did....Good Luck!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickiesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing