We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service - you should love this place!”

Three Samurai Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #84 of 119 Restaurants in Coralville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint James, Missouri
Level Contributor
272 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great food, great service - you should love this place!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had heard great things about this restaurant, and decided to go through "the belly of the beast" (aka: the traffic disgorging from the Iowa Hawkeyes football game) to get to it. Good thing the trip TO the restaurant doesn't get reviewed!

It's a fairly small place, tucked up on the second level of a strip shopping center (park around back and it's a grade-level entry). Mostly booths with three or four hibachi grill/table things across the back window. Lots of wood, a GREAT kabuki print - nice atmosphere. Large variety of rolls and nigiri - we had a spicy lobster roll that was very good, and all the other rolls we saw going out to tables looked fabulous. Also had "pork ramen," which was a bowl of ramen with two large slices of pork, some tofu, hard-boiled egg, and lemongrass. Again, yum!

Service was great - the server (John) gave us some great suggestions! He was really fun, has a great sense of humor, and made our visit much more enjoyable.

Not sure we'll make a special trip back to Coralville for this restaurant alone, but the next time we're in the area, we're going. If you like great food, great service, and a relaxed atmosphere, you'll love this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    15
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Crowded, for a reason - fun and tasty! And they were all heart.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Disclosure - this was an emotional family dinner because one of our party has developed serous special needs. The restaurant was crowded and instead of obliging us to wait 30-40 min., they took it into their hearts to seat us at a hibachi grill table and expedite our order. It was fabulous, fun, delicious, and everyone had a wonderful time. Bless them for helping to create this beautiful memory for our family, as we slowly lose our loved one to dementia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAFPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our top choice”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The snake roll is amazing. We love the Yakisoba and Chicken Teriyaki. My boys request dinner at the grill tables every single birthday, and it is delicious as well. We probably go to Three Samurai at least once or twice a month.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
277 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always Good Sushi/Sashimi!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We keep returning here for good sushi even though we've moved to the West Coast. Ever since our first visit back in 1989 we've enjoyed their fresh fish and local ingredients. We're sushi and sashimi traditionalists and their fish is always fresh with consistent deliveries from the Chicago fish market. Justin, the owner, has always been customer focused and he never hesitates to let you know which fish is fresh and always recommends the best choice for your sushi/sashimi dining experience. Especially the Uni, which is one of my favorites and has to be perfectly fresh to be enjoyed. On this particular day he had just received a shipment of uni and boy was it ever good and evoked pleasant memories of past experiences. The sushi bar has always been our dining choice (highly recommended) and I have to say that it is one of the best, friendliest, and service focused sushi bars we've been to, and that includes good sushi bars here in the West. Whenever we make a trip back to the Midwest we'll always make it a point to stop and enjoy Three Samurai!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Salmon delicious!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The best salmon that I've ever eaten!!! Juicy, golden color and all the ingredients make this dish the best, the rice, green beans, bell pepper...Service was excellent. Definitely my next visit will be very soon. There are special tables that prepare the food in front of you. This service should be for groups. Be patient, this is not fast food!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Uriel Alfredo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Samurai Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Iowa City, IA
 

Been to Three Samurai Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing