We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
JANESVILLE
2 reviews
“Great value for the price.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. The only complaint (which might not be a complaint for others) was the wall of mirrors behind the beds and another mirror across from that. Also, the TV is in an awkward place. Otherwise, the hotel was a great stay and their pet policy is very nice and inexpensive. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    113
    63
    52
    18
See reviews for
126
88
41
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this Microtel on Sept 22, 2012, checking out Sept 23, 2012. The rooms were very clean and beds/pillows provided a good night's sleep. We were treated respectfully. I would definitely recommend this Microtel. The price was very good, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This location was perfect break for our long trip. Very comfy mattress & very good breakfast buffet. Nearby Neal Smith NWR Prairie Learning Center interesting displays & trail. Surprised by large Classic Car Show in Prairie City (not advertised online).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our race team stayed at the Microtel on Thu, 13 Sep while racing at the Iowa Speedway. This hotel is fairly new, very clean and nice. Rooms are decent in size, have microwave and frig. Queen beds are very comfortable. Plenty of parking for semis or race trailers. Teresa at the front desk was very nice and helpful upon checkin and checkout. Breakfast selection is limited but adequate. Will stay there again next year, reasonably priced, easy off and on to interstate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRNBRY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

New, very clean, excellent price, pleasant staff, and a breakfast that got the job done. Perfect for a quick, economical, comfortable stay. Was surprised that juice was available only in a vending machine, but hey, the price was right. Had a computer for guest use besides the wifi. Dish TV with lots of channels and Showtime. My wife said the mattress was really good. No restaurant or pool, but we didn't want them.

Room Tip: A room on the other side of the building from the interstate would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricDurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
227 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I came into this Microtel while road tripping through this area. I had received a tip to try this brand. I knew nothing about it, but wanted to try. I stopped in this lobby and asked the person on duty if she could "sell her brands to me" and she gladly obliged me. I decided to give it a try, and had a coupon from the travel guide and had a great stay. Very cozy and clean. Smoking rooms available. Very friendly and helpful staff. They have just what you need without the expensive frills you don't need. They are located off the highway for easy access, but surrounded by corn (for great pics). There is food and gas nearby. They seerve a continental breakfast and have pop machines and vending too. Ice maker. All that you need to get through the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
0.4 mi away
Colfax Inn
Colfax Inn
#2 of 2 in Colfax
94 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Newton
13.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Address: 11000 Federal Ave, Colfax, IA 50054-7737
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Must cancel by 4pm 2 days before your arrival or you will be charged for the 1st day of your reservation and the remainder of the days will be released. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Colfax
Colfax Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Colfax/Newton Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing