We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean, poorly managed”
Review of Colfax Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colfax Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Peosta, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not clean, poorly managed”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, never again. At 1:00 in the morning a couple were trying to get in our room, because the desk had just assigned them the same room. We had four people in our room, but they only gave us towels for three. Then had to wait while they washed more towels in the laundry room the patrons used. They hot tub was broke and looked like it had been for a while. The ceiling was peeling in the swim area and they did not have enough towels for patrons. The breakfast area was dirty and grimy and there was hairy in the gravy. YUCK!!! Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollo9357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    13
    17
    28
See reviews for
35
20
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allons, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Have stayed at this motel four out of the last six years while attending the Iowa Corn 250 IRL race in Newton, IA. Up until this year it was the perfect place to stay. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and the services were great. This was when the motel was until the Choice Hotels banner and called the Comfort Inn. It is my understanding that in August of 2010, the motel was sold and it became the Colfax Inn, choosing not to stay under the Choice Hotels banner. Well, this year when we want back, the rates have risen, the services have been reduced, the hot tub was broken, the computer in the lobby was no more and the breakfast menu has been greatly reduced. When I asked about the breakfast pastries, I was told that "our boss will not buy pastries". It's very obvious that the new owners are doing things "on the cheap". When we go back to Iowa for the IRL race next year, we won't be staying at the Colfax Inn. Save your money. Don't' stay at the Colfax Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colfax hotels

Alcester, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I was extremely disappointed in this hotel last weekend. The price was extremely inflated due to the fact it is located between Iowa Speedway and Adventureland. First of all, it says its a Comfort Inn, but I really had my doubts. Maybe it once was, but it had the feeling of a privately owned, low-funded hotel.

Our reservation was for a Saturday night, on a race weekend. Due to rain delays, we knew we were going to be getting to the hotel late, so we called to make sure they would still be holding our room for us, which we had reserved a week prior to our stay. They assured us they would hold our room until 1:30 am.

We showed up at midnight, and the first thing we noticed was that the hot tub was under repair. Not a good sign on a busy weekend! Then we were asked if we had reserved a King-bed room. I said yes, and then the manager told us there were no more available and told us he would put us in a double instead. I don't understand why we reserved a room, was assured our room was being held for us when we called in, but then was told our room that we ordered was unavailable when we checked in? If the manager could not give me the room I specifically ordered, then why did I reserve it in the first place? I think a discount should have been offered for screwing up my reservation. For the price I had to pay for this old, run-down hotel, I could have spent a few bucks more, drove a few miles more, and stayed at Embassy. Or for that matter, went accross the road and stayed at the chain hotel that had rooms advertised for $49.95. Never again will I be staying here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakotamomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great hotel that used to be a Comfort Inn. (The sign is still on the outside of the hotel) It is a older hotel that has been maintained quite well, but you can see where the owner should spend a little more on maintenance. The pool was nice but the whirlpool and fitness facilities were not working. The room was nice and comfortable. The managers were very nice and accommodating. There is only a McDonald's across the street from the hotel. The subway is being rebuilt, if you want anything else, you have to go into town. Overall, great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I made a booking in error and cancelled as soon as I realized my mistake (well before the date of the reservation and according to their cancellation policy). They charged my credit card for the entire booking and now are refusing to credit my account.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank giardiniera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeoville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is no longer a Comfort Inn. It is now Colfax Inn. We stayed there May 28, 2012. Checked in at 9 PM. At about 11 to 11:30 pm, somone was trying to come into our room, and banging loudly on the door, yelling if someone was in the room!! It was the manager, and he got the door open, but the latch prevented him from coming in. I told him thru the door that we were in there, and we had checked in earlier. He said he had it down that this room was empty. At that time, I still did not know who he was. I called the front desk immediately, and he answered, and said he was the manager, and it was he who tried coming in. He did apologize, and had some wierd excuse that he thought the room was empty, and was wanting to fis the key thing on the door - that it needed a new battery. Who the heck does maintenance at 11:30 at night!!?!? And why did he yell so loudly, and angrily that we were even in the room? I could not sleep well at all the rest of the night. I asked to be comped at least 1/2 the next morning, but they would not give me one dime back for my troubles. Very bad businessman, in my opinion.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This property used to be owned by Comfort Inn and was a very nice hotel. The change of ownership to the couple that owns and manages it was definitely not a positive change. I stayed with a group and we had 5 rooms rented. Several of the rooms weren't cleaned during our two day stay. No new towels were placed in the rooms either. Two of the rooms had a bathroom door that wouldn't even lock.

The pool was cold but we did spend a lot of time in it and had fun. On the deep end of the pool was a ladder to climb out. One of the (metal) steps was broken off on one side and just hanging there ready to slice someone's foot open. I informed the staff and they seemed concerned and said they would take care of it. It was still that way the next day. The hot tub was broken and blocked off. The "exercise room is a very small room with a bike and maybe a treadmill.

The staff was very friendly, but the overall experience was below par. It seems as though they are barely getting by, as they even reuse the room key holders (which are all nasty and worn). The breakfast was probably one of the biggest let downs. They had some cereal, a gross looking waffle maker, the usual bread/bagels. Then for hot food there were two crock pots. One had sausage gravy and one had biscuits. Be aware that if you want to invite a non-guest to join you for this amazing breakfast, it is clearly stated that "Non-guests, $5.00 charge".

There is also a sign in the breakfast area that says "Subway opening soon nearby" Take that gesture as you will.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colfax
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
12.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colfax Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colfax Inn

Property: Colfax Inn
Address: 1402 N Walnut St, I-80 & Hwy 17, Colfax, IA 50054-9603 (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: United States > Iowa > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colfax Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Colfax Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Colfax
Colfax Comfort Inn
Colfax Inn Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing