We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“management and front desk was horrible and rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn des Moines-West Clive
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed January 2, 2013

this place is a dump. i dont know who they have for maintenance but he needs to be let go. room was not maintained. had trouble with door front desk called maint. but he never came. i dont know where they got their manager he needs to go back asap. he looks down on us as we wwre trash and talks to his staff bad.
overall gwt rid of maintenance man and manager place will be so much better.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aharding12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at the Days Inn in Clive Iowa.

I'm sorry that you had troubles with the front desk staff. I see that you checked in around 8PM and left very early in the morning. I will speak to the front desk employees to make sure this doesn't happen again.

I do apologize for your stay, and hope we can make it up to you.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 761 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel is very polite....but that is the only good part.

The hotel is def. outdated. The shower was nasty- the bed and pillows were some of the worst ever- but nothing was worse than the heater!!! OMG! It would not stay on a current temp- it was either hotter than the tropics or colder than the Artic. Worst nights sleep ever...

Breakfast is pretty pointless. They do have a flip waffle machine, but it was so dirty that our waffles were covered with a black grease like substance all over them. Besides that, they had 1 apple out, 2 types of cereal and some bagels.

If you are looking for somewhere nice to stay, I wouldn't pick here- but if you just need somewhere to lay your head and have your own pillows- then I guess this is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanillac2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

I appreciate the time and effort it took to let us know how we are doing.

I'm sorry that you problems you encountered during your stay with us here at the Days Inn in Clive Iowa. I hope that we can improve for you and any other guests to stay with us.

Please try us again when you are in the Des Moines area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Room 305 was of very poor quality. The hotel was nearly empty and they put us in the room farthest from the lobby. The sprinkler in the room had gone off at some point and the walls, ceiling and pictures all had water damage. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had at any hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jarrod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Days Inn in Clive Iowa.

I'm sorry that your room was not up to your expectations. I wish you would have contacted the front desk upon check in, and we could have moved you rooms that you would have been satisfied with.

I will get maintenance to paint room and check on that heater. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Please try us again next time you are in the Des Moines area.

I do apologize for your troubles with your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank NICKIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
TABOR CITY
1
Reviewed December 16, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Decent room in a good location, however the bedding could use some upgrade. Blanket with holes in it, sheets barely fit the bed, however they were clean. Front staff were nice and friendly. No hallways, doors open to the parking lot. price is perfect for a quick over night stop when traveling.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank DonaldO899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Days Inn in Clive Iowa.

We appreciate the time you took to comment on how our property and staff were during your stay with us.

We are in the process of updated our bedding and drapes. We have to make final decisions and get the order placed. I do know how the first impressions are, and we want them to be the best they can, for all of our guests.

I'm glad that the front desk staff was able to help you out in any way you needed. Our first and second floors do have outside room access, but our third floor is all interior corridors.

I look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in the Des Moines area. If you would like interior corridors, please ask to be assigned to our third floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We pulled in about 8pm~~one person working said one rate was their best, when I said the online rate was cheaper, they said tough! I asked if I coul use the computer in my car and book the hotel, they said that rate was over, and came donw $5 on their price~~ needless to say we aere over charged by $15!!
Breakfast in the morning was not the best~~no danish rolls, and only waffles or oatmeal for the breakfast. Coffee was awful as well. Will NEVER stay at this hotel again,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeris S, Manager at Days Inn des Moines-West Clive, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Days Inn in Clive Iowa.

We appreciate your response and comments on how we are doing for your needs during your visit to the Des Moines area.

I'm sorry for the confusion and mis-understandings about the rates quoted. Online rates are set up differently than on property rates. They have many different rate structures and policies. All of their rates are based off our Rack rate. I have spoke to the front desk and we must be more accommodating to the online rates that are out there.

I apologize for your troubles and hope that you will try us again the next time you are in the Des Moines area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn des Moines-West Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn des Moines-West Clive

Address: 1600 NW 114th St, Clive, IA 50325-7071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $53 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn des Moines-West Clive 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn des Moines-West Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Clive Valley West Hotel Clive
Ramada Clive
Clive Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing