We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility, but a bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Mound, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice facility, but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

One of the nicest BW properties I have found but the price is still a bit high.. but W DesMoines over values itself anyway. I did stay here and liked the people and rooms and facility, but will shop around next trip just to see if I can meet my business budget a bit better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harpbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    136
    45
    23
    13
See reviews for
146
107
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel has no surprises: it offers the standard amenities of BW Plus (micro, fridge, coffee maker. We are always grateful to get a ground floor room, which the staff arranged for us. It is close to the Interstate which makes it convenient to the traveller.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junawally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were travelling to Branson and always stay in Des Moines on the way down, and decided to try a different hotel this time. I had requested ground floor and there was a slight incline going to the hall, which was a little harder for my husband who is slightly handicapped, but he managed. Our room was nice and clean, beds were very comfortable and it had real glasses, but I prefer the plastic that you have to take out of of the wrapper as you know those are clean!! I was glad I had some along!!
We had no idea where to go to eat that night, as all that was near by was a Mexican place, but the front desk was very helpful in suggesting different restaurants, which were just across the freeway.
Not a very big breakfast area, and breakfast choice was okay for me, but my husband is diabetic so a little harder for him. I was surprised to find the Omelets still frozen, that I have never seen before, always they are ready to eat. They did have biscuits/gravy my favorite and some sausage links. The paper plates were the thinnest/cheapest I have ever seen, I had to use two of them, yet they have real cups and real glasses, might as well have real silver ware too, and better paper plates!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband I stayed here while on an anniversary weekend. The check-in was quick and front desk representative very informative about amenities. We did not get to participate in the social hour, but what a wonderful perk! The room was very clean and much larger than we expected. The bed was really comfortable and the hotel very quiet. There was a large selection for breakfast was was kept well stocked by the attendant. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherHohensee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very comfortable place to stay. We were surprised to find a refrigerator and microwave in our room. Very nice, clean and comfortable. Nice large bathroom, good location, friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a great time in Clive, room was clean and everyone was very helpful. The staff was very helpful, food was good and everyone seemed to really care. Will definitely stay here again. They had a social hour that evening and provided food and drink for all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a great hotel! The staff is great and the accommodations are delightful. This is a great location for shopping at Jordan Creek, and it is a quiet and pleasant place to stay. The parking is convenient and the breakfast offers many choices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing