We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Renovo(Urbandale)
$139
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Urbandale)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines(Des Moines)(Great Value!)
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
224
148
47
26
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
148
47
26
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssocial hourdes moinesmeatballshappy hourreal platesclean roomswould stay here againhot tubfresh cookiesrefrigerator and microwavelobby areaeasy accesscomfortable bednice facilitya great place to staywafflesgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 460 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The owner and staff at this hotel did everything they could to ensure a great stay. I was in Iowa covering the Caucuses with 15 other news personnel. Everyone did their best to accommodate our unique needs and erratic schedule. Late night editing sessions were made less stressful with home-baked cookies and coffee. Every staffer went the extra mile to give us everything we needed! If you're looking for a place to stay near Des Moines, I would definitely recommend this Best Western in Clive!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Newly remodeled, room was very nice, breakfast was better than most with adequate choices. Pleasantly surprised at check in to be upgraded because what we had asked for was not available on the first floor, but was available with an upgrade. Hotel was quiet, open space to exercise pets and within walking distance to a Cracker Barrel restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bissbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our group loved the hotel and its owner and staff! Stay here!! We had 16 television news staffers stay at the hotel for 10 days to cover the Iowa Caucuses. The owner Artur and his staff were incredible. They made many accommodations for us. He gave us the large conference room to use. The hotel is clean and safe. The free breakfasts were terrific. A couple of times some staffers were still working at 4 am when the overnight person was setting up for breakfast. He let them eat then even though the breakfast didn't start officially for 2 hours. There are free snacks, pizza, soda, beer, and wine 3 nights. Freshly baked cookies are served every afternoon. When we missed breakfast the day after the Caucuses, the owner made them all day for us and the night desk person did the same all night. The coffee never stopped. The desk personnel was extremely friendly and helpful. The hot tub helped staffers' backs feel better. We felt it was our home away from home. The location was also great since we could easily get on the highway and go wherever we needed. There are many inexpensive places to eat nearby including Cracker Barrell and Kwik Trip. There is a great supermarket called the HyVee and a mall nearby. The rooms were excellent. They had microwaves and refrigerators. The beds were very comfortable. They were clean. The price was very affordable. You got more than your money's worth. The parking was free. It is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: The suites are terrific.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Greeted at the check in with cookies. Happy Hour from 5 to 7 with beer and wine. All the amenities in the room - microwave, refrigerator, free internet - Wonderful hot breakfast, waffles, biscuits and gravy etc. Only suggestion is to improve on the towels, shampoo - conditioner and soap - Perhaps a little higher grade - but that is minor - would stay here again. Dolly E

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Best Western is a hidden gem in the Des Moines Market. The hotel is physically tucked in behind some other facilities at the NW corner of University and I - 35/80. The rooms are comfortable - and the breakfast was better than normal for a budget hotel. We found the staff to be exceptionally friendly and rates were attractive.

Room Tip: Turn by the Cracker Barrell restaurant and follow the frontage road North.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikeHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews