We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick, Easy, Good”

Monterrey Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Clive
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy, Good”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Free Chips and salsa? Oh yeah. Quick friendly service? Of course. Quality food? YES! Good price point? You got it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Mexican, not Tex-Mex or Americanized Mexican, this is the place to go. Not a lot of cheese on their dishes, which is why it is more authentic. My wife loves this place, me not so much.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DANIEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fastttt”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stop here a couple times a month. We really like the food and extensive menu and at very reasonable prices. This is also a great place for kids...lots of booths and large tables and super fast servie allows us to get in and out quick. Try my favorite, tacos azada!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank desmoinesdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mucho yummy”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

First time here and will return again! One of the best Mexican restaurants in IA! Great food,great service,and a great value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Typical Good, Quick Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Its just like every other Mexican place I have ever been to. Good, quick lunches...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank phatrabbit743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing