We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is friendly - Needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here last year (June of 2013) for a 3 day baseball tournament. Kids loved it as it was like a mini apartment with a full size kitchen. So we decided to book it again this year (June 2014) Our room had a funky wet dog smell. Bathroom was dirty with mold all around the tub and paint peeling off the walls. Kids said the pull out bed from couch was not comfortable. The pool area was nice, but outdoor pool ONLY. We got lucky with nice weather. The staff was friendly, Front desk, maintenance and housekeeping. Breakfast in the morning was not much to choose from, but at least they provided something. There are plenty of different hotels to choose from, so I think until this places receives some major updates (paint, carpet, pull out beds, etc..) we may have to choose another location.. 2013 was not bad, 2014 not soo good.. Again, the staff was nice, oh and they have an armed officer that patroled the premise during our stay, so we had a feeling of being safe.

Room Tip: Any room is close to pool as you may be hanging there the most. Get a ground level if you have a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 244 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

It took checking back four times to get the room we originally booked. After reading the reviews we asked for the renovated king, two queen suite. Checked us into the wrong room then when we got the right one, it was not renovated. Wallpaper torn, sketchy bathroom, no blankets for sofa sleeper (called and they didn't have any more, nor no more towels). TV downstairs did not work and maid never showed up the next day. We planned on staying for eight days bit checking out early. So disappointing. If you stay here, check your reservation daily to see if they have it correct. They had my name down wrong, wrong dates, and two tries to get the room originally wanted booked. So angry I could spit!!

Room Tip: Don't choose here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Showmom311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel several times. The location is at the intersection of two major interstate highways. If you're looking for value, cleanliness and friendly staff, this is a great choice. The rooms are spacious suites with kitchens, great for an extended stay. They have a good breakfast bar and, for lunch or dinner many restaurants are nearby. In the summer we used the pool which was delightful. Since our first stay, the suites have been updated with new linens, fixtures and furnishings. We will stop again on our next trip through Iowa.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here 3 days around the end of April. I don't know if we got a deal, but, we got a suite with a kitchenette, a king master bed and bath room, and a loft with a full bed and own bath room for $80/night with AAA discount. The people on the phone booking were nice. We actually got charged wrongly for one night, but, the lady on the phone took care of it right away.

It's not the newest looking property and could use an upgrade, but, again for the amount of space, this would be perfect to stay with a family. Especially for the money. Each bed had it's own 25(ish) inch flatscreen TV and the living room area had a 42 inch with a pullout bed sofa and a nice chair as well. Also, the bed was very comfortable and almost seemed like it had a "topper" on it to make it softer.

Only other minor complaint is that it is a little noisy if you are by the interstate, so request a room away from interstate. All in all, excellent property for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from interstate. Loft room would make for a great stay if you have an entire fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I been here multiple times and each time things are better. Wifi worked well, outdoor pool looks good, room was big and clean, nice to have kitchenette so I didn't have to eat out all the time.
Easy to get to and from the interstate, with nice restaurants close by.
I'm sure I'll be there again.

Room Tip: They are remodelling - so ask for a room that is already done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a cross country drive, was very convenient to highway and great price. Ended up with a studio suite which appears to be in a complex that appears to have been all apartments or possibly lower end timeshare. Units all have full kitchens and closets, utilities in the kitchen like silverware and dishes, dishwasher, etc. Quiet, comfortable and clean. Outdoor pool, breakfast, etc. A little older but no complaints. And all this for less than most any other hotel in town. Can't beat it

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem! Inexpensive, high quality finishes, easy access, with a great location. We arrived late and they accommodated our late arrival which was awesome. The front desk attendant was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $62 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing