We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too shabby, outside Pool. Apartment like.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not too shabby, outside Pool. Apartment like.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here in late June of 2013. There was an outside pool that was nice with seating all around. The rooms were set up like a little apartment with full size fridge, stove sink. Queen bed with pull out bed from sofa. Our room was clean, but our TV was not working. Nice staff and maintenance guy was friendly as he tried to fix the TV. They did give us $20 off per night due to this and even offered us a selection of other rooms to move to. Kids had electronic devices to suffice with free wifi. No biggie. Gas station close by and tons of places to eat. Our kids enjoyed it and said "I would totally stay here again".. Close to the mall as well. We did not use room service during our 2 night stay as we did not require this.
I think they changed their name to Sterling Hotels and Suites

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level if you have a lot of stuff to carry in your room. Pool is located in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    57
    32
    28
    34
See reviews for
97
37
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

HUGE rooms, full kitchen, decent pool, laundry facilities and all the comforts of home for a GREAT price. I looked around and nothing was comparable. The cleaning service was great also. I am very impressed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missouritravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great beds, nice people, big & clean rooms - what more can you ask for? If you arrive in the afternoon around happy hour, you are treated to free beer, tacos and warm chocolate chip cookies. I adore this place and love staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeadfootMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found this hotel to be clean and well maintained. It appears the rooms were recently renovated. There was a free breakfast included which was very good. Not just a continental breakfast. Waffles and eggs wre included.

Room Tip: Near I-80 so you may want to get a room furtherest from the expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joecool11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Property: Sterling Hotel and Suites
Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7031 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing