We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“clean and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

the good news, it was clean and quiet. It also offered a large and decent free breakfast. The bads news, beds were not good. You kind of rolled to the middle if you know what I mean and my son wanted to watch a movie......he glanced at the screen and thought it was $4.99.....wrong!!! $14.99 for a older movie, live and learn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheesegrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    133
    57
    30
    13
See reviews for
244
87
8
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

My wife and I got the Romance Package for our anniversary that inncludes a king 1 bedroom suite, wine, chocolates, etc. The room was wonderful. It has a seperate bedroom with a door and is quite spacious, and you get a free movie credit;) The indooor pool is very large and nice. The breakfast has a wide variety of foods. We will definetly be back next year. Overall, an excellent value and a fine hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Rapids
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I LOVED the room, for starters! I inspect every room to the minutest detail, as I am quite picky about cleanliness. The room smelled nice (good first impression!), was VERY clean and very roomy! plenty of room to spread out! I didn't get a chance to go into the fitness room, but the pool room was very inviting, too! And the breakfast - YUMMY!!! The proverbial cherry on top was the strawberries to go on your waffles - can't beat that! On that same trip, I stayed at the Hampton in Ames and Baymont Inn and Suites, and neither of them could even start to compare to this one! GO TO COUNTRY INN AND SUITES!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNLoriH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I traveled for almost two weeks straight and this was one of the 4 hotels I stayed out. I was really impressed by the hotel as a whole. My room was very spacious and comfortable. If I had the choice, I would've stayed there the whole time. I also used the pool and hot tub at night and it was nice to have that option to relax. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was absolutely the best I've ever seen! There were SO many options and it was all very good. I will definately be using this chain when I travel and hope they all hold their standards this high.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenS000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

After a long drive - we were greeted with a friendly smile and warm cookies. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. A cheery "good morning" greeted us on our way to breakfast each morning. Despite the full hotel of weekend basketball, soccer, baseball and dancers_ the staff worked fevereshly to keep the breakfast bar fully stocked - despite the teen feeding frenzy! Well done! Having just stayed at several 5-star hotels in Florida, we received the same 5-star service here in West Des Moines - at a fraction of the cost! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

The Country Inn was a welcome find in West Des Moines. Just off I-80 and right in the heart of everything we needed. It was clean, fresh and comfortable. The pool is way above average and offers a nice jacuzzi too. Also, the breakfast had everything both hot and cold. Eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, hot oatmeal, cereal for the kids, anything and everything. Even the staff was tremendous! BTW, there's a Cracker Barrel next door and Jordan Creek Mall is only about 2 miles door-to-door. Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcps1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at the Country Inn & Suites on our way back to Minneapolis from Lincoln, NE. It is conveniently located where I-80 and I-35 meet.

There were groups of boys in the hotel for the state basketball championships, but when they were in their rooms, we could not hear them from our room.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom king suite. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. The living room was tight when the sofa bed was pulled out. The fitted sheet was too small for the sofa bed, but when I called the front desk, the woman at the desk immediately brought the right size sheet.

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've seen for this class of a hotel. The only thing we didn't care for was the scrambled eggs.

We didn't use the pool or wireless internet. However, the computer in the lobby was convenient for checking in for my flight.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Address: 1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in western suburbs (Clive) of Des Moines. Beautifully landscaped property features one of the largest indoor swimming pools in the West Des Moines area. Extensive renovation in spring of 2012 includes many upgrades to guestrooms, breakfast room, public space and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West Hotel Clive
Country Inn And Suites - Des Moines West
Country Inn Clive
Clive Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing