We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Responsive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Responsive staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Quick stop as we were driving from WI to CO. 1st room smelled like cigarettes but they moved us across the hall without a fuss. Otherwise was clean and had nice (the usual) amenities.
Breakfast was adequate and standard fare.
Didn't have time to check out the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that the first roomwe assigned did not meet your expectations but I am glad we were able to resolve the issue quickly and efficiently. I hope you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back through Des Moines.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    137
    57
    30
    13
See reviews for
249
89
9
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel late after a long drive and the staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and comfortable as for the fact that we were very tired. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and there is complementary breakfast. This was so much better than the Millennium Hotel we stayed at the previous night in Colorado!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind remarks and of course we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon should your travels bring you back to our area!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My youngest grandson wanted to "take a trip with Grandpa and Grandma yet before going into high school." So we planned a Western trip through several of our National Parks. Had a GREAT time! At Country Inn & Suites the staff was super helpful and polite. Thanks for the treatment and interest you gave us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello!
Thank you very much for the kind review of our hotel and your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you, Grandma and your grandson enjoyed your trip and your stay with us! I will share your kind remarks with the rest of the staff here and hope that you will have an opportunity to come back and visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
345 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This location just west of West Des Moines, IA is another one of the cream of the crop locations. Country Inn & Suites is 1 of our top brands because the beds are always super comfortable with comforters and high quality linens.

The rooms are a bit larger than other brands so it's great for the two of us to have more room - especially when we stay over a weekend for a long work project.

We would definitely return to this location.

Room Tip: Can walk to the Cracker Barrel or Mexican restaurants nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Candace,
Thank you very much for staying with us as well as the great review here on TripAdvisor. The staff and myself as please that you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience. We look forward to hosting you again soon when you travel through Iowa!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tom runs one of the best Country Inn & Suites. Every time we pass through we make sure we stay here. Rooms always the cleanest, staff extremely knowledgeable, Breakfast outstanding as it is always changing top quality.

Room Tip: Don't miss when passing through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandD121997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

clean and neat hotel, plenty of room for Parking, nice amenities, and of course the free breakfast.
some staff are highly customer oriented, and some don't care.
we have been given their worse room, which is located above the lobby, the lobby had music running all night. to fix it, they credit us 25$..

I stayed in better country inn and suites.

hope they fix the loud music issue so other guests will enjoy their sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above Lobby!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Curly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We certainly are sorry for the lobby music volume and the inconvenience that this caused you. We would have promptly turned the volume down had we been made aware that this was a disturbance to anyone before it became an issue. I had the volume levels checked when we were made aware of this particuilar issue and it is at the same level that we normally keep it at. We turned it down a little bit to ensure that this will not cause any problems in the future. I hope that the $25 plus tax adjustment that we made to your credit card at check out indicates the sincerity that we have to this issue and to our guest's comfort and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentop, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

At check-in, when they ask for a credit card for "incidentals", they actually charge the card for $15, and then rebate the charge after a week if you have no additional charges. They don't tell you this at check-in, and I had to call the hotel directly after seeing the $15 charge on my credit card to find this out. Apparently, this location is unique in this policy, which I find to be deceptive. If they are going to charge your credit card, they should tell you that this is their policy at check-in. Otherwise, the other reviews of this location are accurate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank h-bom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your concerns regarding your recent stay with us. You are correct, you should have been informed at the time of check in that your credit/debit card would be pre-authorized for $15. I apologize that this did not hapen and I will reinforce this important procedure with our front desk staff. This pre-authorization procedure ensures adequate credit amount from your credit/debit account should you have charged any incidental items or services to your room account. This procedure protects the hotel financially as it ensures prior to any of these items or services taking place that there is sufficient funds in your credit card account to cover these charges. Yes, it has happened before that the hotel failed to obtain a approval code from the credit card bank for a potential charge amount and in the end, the hotel was not able to collect the funds from the credit card. Those pre-authorization approval amounts never come into our hotel's bank account at any time. The approval allows the hotel to place a charge against that pre-auth amount should the guest decide to purchase something else from the hotel. If there are no other charges at the time of the guest checking out, the pre-auth amount will fall back into the guest's credit/debit card account and be made available to them. This sometimes takes 7-10 days and this timeframe depends upon the guest's banks policies and procedures and not the hotel's. I know that this procedure is a very common practice throughout the hotel industry and has been for many years. If you still have any questions regarding this issue, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. I look forward to hopefully hosting you again at our hotel and hope that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Address: 1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in western suburbs (Clive) of Des Moines. Beautifully landscaped property features one of the largest indoor swimming pools in the West Des Moines area. Extensive renovation in spring of 2012 includes many upgrades to guestrooms, breakfast room, public space and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West Hotel Clive
Country Inn And Suites - Des Moines West
Country Inn Clive
Clive Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing