We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more based on the other reviews but was disappointed. Just okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Our room was okay. It was a little dated. Breakfast was alright but nothing spectacular. They offered fruit and pastries and a few hot selections. The pool was nice but over chlorinated, the jacuzzi was nice, exercise room was okay but a little small.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyCnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 620 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stopped here on our way to MN for one night and could not have been happier. Everything was perfect from the check in to the check out; rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy, breakfast was good. Close to a couple of restaurants if you needed that. Always happy with Country Inn & Suites no matter where they are.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjmagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend. I stayed in a suite room with my brother and his wife. I very much appreciated being able to sleep on the pull out couch in a separate room from my brother and his wife. This hotel is well run, clean, friendly and with a great breakfast! Staff was courteous and attentive. The pool was sparkling clean. The suites are sweet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When you pull up to the hotel, it looks like a country house, complete with a porches and sitting area. The rooms are very nice with big comfy beds. When you check into the hotel, they have free fresh baked cookies for the guests!! Included with the price of the room comes a hot breakfast. The breakfast is biscuits and gravy or Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches also, there is fruit, fruit cups as well as a variety of cereals, hot and cold. The pool and hot tub area is very big and not crowded at all. I recommend staying here. We used a coupon and only paid $65.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labnstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

THis is a great hotel!! WIth the cookies for us and the children, it was great. The pool size was pretty large and nice as well. We will be back!! The rooms were oversized as well, and perfect for families!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank deniseiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Country Inn & Suites hotels are usually more expensive than I would prefer to pay for short business travel. I found this one on Expedia, and jumped at it because of the location, and becaus my experience at Country Inn is typically great

No disppointments here. The location is good....service was top notch if not overbearing (sometimes TOO much love is too much, ya know?).....it's spotless.....wireless (my pet peeve) was free and fast......breakfast was fine.

Nothing to complain about. Any hotel around $100 per night of this quality will get repeat biz from me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was by far one of the best Country Inn & Suites Hotels that I have ever stayed at (in my opinion).
We were upgraded to a whirlpool suite because of our hotel rewards elite status and from the moment we arrived at the hotel until the moment we left, we felt valued as customers and did not run into any problems at all with this hotel.
(Any more it has started to feel like I expect there to be a problem when staying at a hotel, but this hotel has ended that expectation, thankfully!!)
This hotel has plenty of parking (free), is located off the interstate for easy access but is tucked back far enough so that noise was never an issue (and next to a QT gas station), the hotel inside and outside is clean and well kept up, the front desk staff was very pleasant, rooms are easily accessible by stairs or elevator, and there was even a group staying at the hotel but the sound never once was heard in our room. The room was super clean and spacious-both important parts of a hotel stay for the two of us.
The breakfast in the morning had SO many options. We enjoyed fresh fruit, waffles, french toast, bacon, muffins, yogurt parfaits, juice, coffee, and tea. There was more than enough food for everyone and the breakfast room itself was very spacious (We didn't feel like we were sitting with another table).

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the middle of the hotel, second or third floor, for easy room access and less...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West

Address: 1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $102 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in western suburbs (Clive) of Des Moines. Beautifully landscaped property features one of the largest indoor swimming pools in the West Des Moines area. Extensive renovation in spring of 2012 includes many upgrades to guestrooms, breakfast room, public space and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West Hotel Clive
Country Inn And Suites - Des Moines West
Country Inn Clive
Clive Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing