We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean and fair rates.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great front desk staff ~ always friendly and I have very rarely had to wait for my room even when arriving before noon. Rooms are very roomy, very clean and smell nice w/o overwhelming scents/sprays.
I bring water and food and the frig always works correctly ~ which I find extremely rare in hotels.
Beds are good for a hotel bed ~ not great. Probably just time to replace them.
Workout room is average, but meets one's needs.
Pool and spa are always clean. Nice outdoor space also.
QuickTrip and restaurant just steps away. Easy access to interstate and close to 2 malls for shopping. I also like that you can get out and take a walk in the area.
GREAT value for your MONEY!!

Room Tip: If traveling with children, the 2 room suite is a steal and will give you privacy after the kids hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristiKae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 564 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent a long weekend in Des Moines, found this pet friendly motel and are glad we did. Of all the places we’ve have stayed, this one on the west side really stands out. Not because it is particularly luxurious or refined. It’s not. But it is an incredibly functional, comfortable place to stay. Let me start with the room. Nice square-shaped space with comfortable furniture. No worries about where to plug things in, there are outlets on the lamps and extras in the walls. The lamps had three way bulbs! The refrigerator was large and worked. The freezer actually kept things frozen. The heating system was reliable and the climate settings worked, unlike many places that have dysfunctional climate control systems. The shower was simple but functional, great pressure and spray. Satellite TV with Showtime. The key cards worked in the doors and entry areas without a hitch. When was the last time you paid $85-$100 a night and had everything work? Right, neither can I.
The pool has a handicapped access lift for people who need aid getting into the water. I have never stayed at a hotel that had one of these. Not a big deal to me, but to a person with special needs, it matters a lot. There is also a place to rinse in the pool area and lots of towels. The hot tub was big and had nice, hot water. The jets were powerful and we enjoyed it for relaxing our muscles.
My wife and I have different bedding needs, but we both slept OK, once we adjusted to the king’s firmness. We’d say the bed was no better than average. To their credit, the desk manager wrote my comments down and said they would look into replacing them. All the staff people we encountered were top notch, very caring and responsive. Another bonus, check out is at noon!
We really liked staying at this property for all the reasons listed. It’s not refined or luxurious, but it really does the basics very well! This well-managed and well-kept property created a welcome and comfortable experience for us. The La Quinta in Clive sure shines when it comes to the simple necessities that concern travelers.

Room Tip: The room was quiet and we were off the elevator down the hall. Nice and quiet rooms are on the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked through Priceline this time. Greeted by Jerry at check in. Very nice staff, very considerate housekeeping crew. Clean, attractive room with better than average flat screen TV. Lobby doubles as nice breakfast area. A/C unit has a digital temperature control & is better than many in other hotels. Excellent location. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: 4th floor room on West side was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Clean room handicap equipped. No handicap rooms with larger than a full bed. Worst, only chair was at desk. We had to go to lobby to sit and read the paper. Clean, very nice pool and hot tub. Friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were stranded a night in Des Moines due to a severe tornado warning blocking our path home. The La Quinta was an affordable place, that was nicely appointed, complete with swimming pool and things. The room was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The toilet flushed REALLY LOUD. I don't really have much to complain about. It was worth the 80$. Not high end, not low end, but a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

To much noise at 2am room above ours could hear guest walking and squeaky bed AC was also noisy.Good breakfast staff was friendly book early for better price which I will do next time nice grounds and pets were free with plenty of walking areas good food near by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Old, not clean and poor comfort for sleeping. Parking is limited, especially if there are trucks or trailers. Breakfast is not served early on weekends, which is a problem for early risers or those that need to leave early. Didn't get 2 queen beds we reserved, so were given a king with a hid a bed. The hid a bed was HORRID!!! Definitely lumpy, thin, weird angled back killer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $68 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing