We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not up to La Quinta standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We travel often with our dog and stay in La Quinta's frequently. This one has smaller than usual rooms and postage stamp size towels (that were immaculate). It was busy and filled with families who sprawled in the halls and took over the breakfast area all times of the day with pizza and snacks enough to make it look like a pigsty. Not sure what the staff could do, but doing nothing was their choice. The bed was good, there was plenty of hot water and it was thankfully cool. the bathroom could do with less hair on the floor. For the money, if you do not have a dog, I think there are better choices locally. La Quinta's are usually better than this, so don't let this one spoil them all for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omergene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 576 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We have stayed at this hotel in the past, but will not be returning. We asked for clean towels while we were out for the day. We got our towels, but we alos had money and pain meds taken form the room. We assume it was housekeeping, because the master key was the only other key used to open our room while we were away.
We reported this to management. They were very understanding given the circumstances. After reporting the theft, my husband got into the shower and I walked down to visit with family staying in another room. When I returned to my room, I opened the door and stepped on the money clip that was taken. It had been slid under our room door with the money in it. I let the desk know that the money was returned. However, I'm sure the pain meds were sold to the riff-raff that was hanging around the back entrance to the hotel.
We will not be staying at this particular La Quinta again.

Room Tip: Keep your Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The staff is not to be trusted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sun City, Arizona, USA
1
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was one of the best experiences I've ever had at a motel. Friendly and helpful service upon check-in (when I had no reservation). I've stayed at La Quinta in the past and really like their pet friendly relationship with the public. I received the military discount rate for my prior service and was also given an upgrade!! Awesome!! I will keep staying at La Quinta and will keep this particular site in my GPS as a regular stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We needed a cheap, dog friendly hotel to stay at while traveling from Colorado to WI- with the other condition being that it needed to have some restaurants to walk to nearby. After 12 hours in the car, we didnt want to drive to eat! We had a non-smoking room which still had traces of past smokers- but it wasn't bad. The room was clean, beds comfy, and it was surprisingly quiet considering all the baseball teams staying there. It was right off the hwy but sheltered from the noise. Best of all, there are lots of green spaces and large grassy grounds of neighboring hotels and office campuses, which was lovely for our dog. The mex restaurant next door was decent enough- HUGE portions and super cheap. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katyjoyalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My daughter took her kids to the baseball tournament in which they played & was charged twice for 2 nights instead of once. This nearly cleaned out her credit card & made it impossible for her to take her kids with the rest of the team to dinner. Everything was supposed to be done as a team but her kids got left out because of the hotels mistake. No manager was coming in that nite till 11:00 p.m. & we were told we should call our bank?? 5:00 p.m. on a Saturday? I don't think so. When talking to the manager he told us they didn't double charge several times before he finally found it & informed us that it could be a week before the $ went back on the card. Add this to very slow elevator, only one washer & dryer & people being told there were no more clean towels & you get the idea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank kayjtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a youth bsseball tourney. While the whole city was booked for the weekend due to many events, the $120 for a room was $30+ more than what it's worth on a prime night. In our room, the drywall was cracking off the walls and beds sunk to the middle. The Internet was slow, the halls were all warm, musty and smelled of stale cigarette smoke. The room was okay other than the old beds, cracked walls and the hideous shower curtain with the LaQuinta logo. There are some cleaning/maintenence issues needing some addressing. Some reservations in our group were messed up, but handled by the clerk. Finally, breakfast was sparce. I've stayed at nice LaQuintas. This isn't one of them. If you can get this room for $65-70 a night, go for it. It's not worth $120.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
1
Reviewed June 12, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#13 of 48 in Des Moines
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $67 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing