We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for Dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is nothing special. I stayed in a room, not a suite. There was refrigerator and microwave. Staff was friendly. Many, many dogs stay here. Room was clean, and shower was warm and strong. I stayed here after I found the nearby Chase Suites uninhabitable.

Room Tip: Go for the suite.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 540 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

La Quinta Inn in West Clive (Des Moines area) is a very good choice for a traveler passing through the area. Its an excellent choice for a traveler with a dog looking for a place to stay around Des Moines, since La Quinta allows customers to bring dogs.

The hotel staff is very helpful and sees customer service as a top priority.

The hotel is new and modern. If memory serves me, its about five stories tall.

The breakfast room is large and spacious. There is a t.v. set to watch all the obligatory shows in the morning like "Good Morning, America". The hotel provides an abundant selection of both local and national newspapers free of charge. The continental breakfast itself is above average with a good selection of fruit, pastries, and waffles.

The free internet at the hotel is usually available and located in a convenient place.

Finally, the hotel is located in its own cul-de-sac near about three restaurants that are within short walking distance. One restaurant is a "Cracker Barrel". Another is a Mexican restaurant which has a good bar and serves decent (not fantastic) Mexican food.

The only drawback to this hotel is that it is not located near the downtown or main section of town. Clive is a suburb of Des Moines. This makes the hotel good for a traveler passing through town on Interstate 80. Its probably not so good, for a businessman needing a place to stay near commercial contacts in the downtown area.

Room Tip: Ask for no-smoking
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markg91359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We were traveling to Kansas City and got the LaQuinta Inn on a Priceline bid.
We were pleased with the hotel and the room, and would not hesitate returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaydeNoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After reading very negative reviews, I was quite apprehensive about my stay at this property. The room did need some updates and the toilet needed some work as it did not flush easily. However, the room had a new shower enclosure and new flat screen TV. There was also a fridge and a microwave in the room. The breakfast area was clean and had the usual items such as waffles, bagels, fruit, juices and muffins. The hotel does sit next to an interstate, so I did have some road noise in the room. However, I thought that the room was adequate for the rate that I paid through the discount site.

Room Tip: Stay on the side farthest from the highway to reduce road noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaWalkingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

An average stay overall, and a good value for the price. However, the single pane slider windows let in way too much highway noise - even when our room faced away from I80. A refurbishment that included replacement with double-paned windows would go a long way to improving the sleeping experience. I literally thought the window was partially opened - that noisy.

The breakfast was lacking an array of fresh fruit and oddly, no way to get a glass of water at breakfast without going to the bathroom to get it from the sink.

Room was above adequate, but shower stall was super cheap molded fiberglass. Noise from occasionally yipping dog (yes they allow dogs) and noise from next room was enough to disturb sleep.

Saving grace was good price - at least $25 cheaper than nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were traveling north to see family and decided to stop in the Des Moines area for the night. We found La Quinta and, having stayed at one before, decided to give it a try. The service was wonderful, the room was spacious and very clean, and the breakfast was plentiful! We would definitely go back, if we were ever in the area, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The service for towels is unreasonable. They give you half of what is staying in your room for individuals and when asked for some more whether called down or asked at check in or even when they are cleaning your room they either do not bring to you, you have to go down and get face to face extras, or maids give less than. The pool on both occasions and hot tubs were filthy. There were floating bandaids, dirt, hair, etc in both. We had sugar ants crawling all over our bathroom sink and walls when we woke up next day and there was no food or juice etc in the room. Air conditioner smells of mustiness and when you walk in the room you can smell the same odor and the temp is always the same whether up or down--not cold enoug. The complaints were made in person and via email and there was nothing but an I am sorry. Don't expect to receive anything for troubles or fixing of the issues. SORRY-bad choice of a hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karatewoman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 48 in Des Moines
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $73 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing