We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highway noise in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highway noise in the room”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

An average stay overall, and a good value for the price. However, the single pane slider windows let in way too much highway noise - even when our room faced away from I80. A refurbishment that included replacement with double-paned windows would go a long way to improving the sleeping experience. I literally thought the window was partially opened - that noisy.

The breakfast was lacking an array of fresh fruit and oddly, no way to get a glass of water at breakfast without going to the bathroom to get it from the sink.

Room was above adequate, but shower stall was super cheap molded fiberglass. Noise from occasionally yipping dog (yes they allow dogs) and noise from next room was enough to disturb sleep.

Saving grace was good price - at least $25 cheaper than nearby hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    158
    98
    58
    30
See reviews for
220
99
48
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were traveling north to see family and decided to stop in the Des Moines area for the night. We found La Quinta and, having stayed at one before, decided to give it a try. The service was wonderful, the room was spacious and very clean, and the breakfast was plentiful! We would definitely go back, if we were ever in the area, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The service for towels is unreasonable. They give you half of what is staying in your room for individuals and when asked for some more whether called down or asked at check in or even when they are cleaning your room they either do not bring to you, you have to go down and get face to face extras, or maids give less than. The pool on both occasions and hot tubs were filthy. There were floating bandaids, dirt, hair, etc in both. We had sugar ants crawling all over our bathroom sink and walls when we woke up next day and there was no food or juice etc in the room. Air conditioner smells of mustiness and when you walk in the room you can smell the same odor and the temp is always the same whether up or down--not cold enoug. The complaints were made in person and via email and there was nothing but an I am sorry. Don't expect to receive anything for troubles or fixing of the issues. SORRY-bad choice of a hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karatewoman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clive hotels

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I am allergic to dogs and mold, and this hotel was full of both. Lots of mold in the bathroom around the toilet and shower. Dogs in the lobby when I arrived & on the elevator ... and then more dogs walking around the breakfast area in the morning. Not a good hotel if you have allergies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here on our trip to and from the Rockies. Located in a convenient on/off from I-80. We were pleasantly surprised at the recent updates - new carpeting and painting, new TV's and furnishings. The pool and hot tub were clean and kept at a warm temperature. although really active with young kids on a weekend night.

We did experience problems - the new TV didn't work in one of our rooms, but the manager attempted to fix and when he couldn't repair it, offered us a discount.

On our return trip we experienced some unexpected car problems. The front desk clerk was either missing, or curt and lacked the attention we needed to get back on the road. The lobby internet was so slow connecting, we gave up after 30 minutes. The lobby breakfast buffet area was dirty, trash over-flowing, and food not replenished. One of our rooms also had a toilet that continued to run water constantly.

A suggestion/complaint was emailed to La Quinta (and no, it wasn't requesting a discount), but after over a week, we've received no reply except that the message was received.

FYI - there was a dog show in town, and we were told this place has no guaranteed room that hasn't had pets stay in at some point in time.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor as it has only one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stayed here after driving through many storms. Stopped for a room with 2 dogs and 2 adults. They were very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The free breakfast was not the best but then we did get there at the end. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel as both people and pet friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2pupsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Well after reading some reviews on this hotel, I was a little worried. But once we got to the room, realized it wasn't a bad looking hotel. This was our first time staying at a La Quinta so we had no experience on what to expect. The price was reasonable and the beds we actually pretty comfortable for a low priced chain. We stayed in a king bed room with our 11 month old so they provided a crib for him which was nice. Our king bed had 5 feather pillows on it which is about the only way I can sleep. The shower was nice and warm while also maintaining the same temperature throughout the shower. The only negatives I have from this La Quinta is when I bent down to watch what my son was up to, I noticed that behind the dresser on the floor was a previous customers panties, but we quickly threw them out so he didn't play with them. Also we found either a piece of cat or dog food under the recliner. But overall, this was a great hotel if you are only really needing a nice place to sleep. We did not get up early enough to eat the breakfast so I can't help out on that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theottos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#9 of 48 in Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
5.3 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Address: 1390 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing