We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights for business”
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed two nights for business. The grounds and public areas are clean and well maintained. The rooms were fresh and clean with comfortable beds and a pillow menu. I was pleased with the in room coffee and ironing board. The room was spacious and could have been used for entertaining. The wifi was easily accessed and the halls were quiet. The in house complimentary breakfast precluded having to travel anywhere before heading out to work and offered a complete breakfast buffet with ample choices.

I would stay on any return business trips.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are far enough away from the lobby and the 2nd floor mezzanine foot traffic and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 289 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

From booking, the staff was very helpful and personable, and did an excellent job of accommodating my request for a room with plenty of space to get some work done.
Location is convenient but still tucked away enough for privacy and quiet. Close to many restaurants.
Wish the room had a fridge/microwave, but, other than that, large TV, desk, coffeemaker, etc.
Front desk staff was excellent. The hotel is homey, quiet and comfortable. Rooms are spacious and clean. Will definitely try to book here again.

Room Tip: Let staff know if you're traveling for business and would like a room with work space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_kempstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel really sets itself apart from most blocky chain hotels I have stayed at. The decor of the place is that of being in a log cabin in the Northern United States. I must admit it really makes up for the fact that you are staying in suburban Des Moines, the hotel also really does a good job at combining it with all the latest modern comforts such as flat screen TVs and Wi-Fi, The Wi-Fi is a good strength. They do have an onsite indoor swimming pool. Its actually quite huge, definitely a hit with some of the younger guests, Unlike most hotel pools this one is freeform, it only goes down to five feet deep, thats alright because mostly children and adults use this pool. The bedding is really comfortable. So Long story short I really recommend this place.

Room Tip: Avoid Poolside rooms room (140 for instance) if you are a light sleeper and if you don't want y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OHIOJOE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Upon checking into my room on Sunday 2/2/14, I was disappointed with the condition of the room. Wallpaper falling from the wall, light flickering, no outlet cover, outside noise and lack of snow plowing in the parking lot. Frustrated, I wrote a TripAdvisor review and posted pictures of the wall paper. On Tuesday 2/4/14, I came back to my room with a note from maintenance that they had fixed the light, replaced the cover, added a power strip for extra outlets near the bed and temporarily fixed the wallpaper. I was rather impressed, as it was obvious my first review was read by the business. At 5pm on 2/4/14, I received a knock at the door and was greeted by the General Manager of Wildwood Lodge. Jon Brucklacher introduced himself and advised he had been made aware of my review. Mr. Brucklacher provided me with an apology letter on the condition of the room, how it was fixed or will be fixed (wallpaper will be fixed after I leave) and what they will work on to make sure another guest doesn't meet the same frustrations in the future. Mr. Brucklacher offered to move me to another room and I declined, but the gesture was appreciated. I was informed after my departure, this room will be "disabled" until the temporary fixes were made permanent. I would still recommend they find someone to do snow removal on a more frequent basis. It's been snowing 12+hrs and the parking lot does not appear to have been plowed. I'm not referring to the parking spaces, but the travel portion of the lot. I have upped my rating of this hotel to average as this hotel is showing its age and wear and tear. However, I would gladly upgrade the rating of staff and management to excellent. I have been told this location is due for an upgrade next year, which will greatly improve it's aged look. I will watch for the news of a remodel being completed and will look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APD103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Since our daughter lives in Des Moines, we often stay at the Wildwood Lodge and view it as an excellent place to stay in the area. One of the best things about it is the lodge-inspired lobby area; it is very large and two storied and is filled with a myriad of "up north" decorations from fishing creels to a canoe to a moose! We are always finding interesting items that we had missed on previous stays. The rooms are spacious and do not seem like typical hotel rooms. As in the lobby, there is a lodge-like feel. The only negative about the room - and this is a small thing- is the placement of the bed in a king room. It almost right up against the wall on one side, making it necessary for the person on that side to crawl over the bed to get in. I have the impression that the queen rooms do not have this problem. Breakfasts at Wildwood Lodge are amazing! The entire lobby becomes the breakfast room and there are fresh made eggs, waffles (on weekends), oatmeal, sausage and gravy, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, meats, etc.. They really go all out. There is also food served on weekday evenings, but we were never there for that, so cannot comment. The pool is a very nice one and seems very well used - especially by the younger guests. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to help. All in all, a very good choice for a place to stay in the Des Moines-Clive are.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JoAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family, along with a few other families, spent New Year's Eve at the Wildwood and thought it was fantastic! They had a band, snacks, party favors and more! Our group sat by the fire, played games and relaxed, watching other families come and go. The next morning's New Year's breakfast was probably the biggest I've ever seen at a hotel. A great value for all of the fun we had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The4Dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great property at a very affordable rate in a great area for shopping!! Very nice north woods style theme! Will definitely go back when in that area! Breakfast o.k not spectacular but still a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#3 of 11 in Urbandale
167 reviews
3.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: $86 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing