We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, location and staff”
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great hotel, location and staff”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel isn't really meant for extended stay (no washer/dryer or microwaves); however you don't mind staying. Was here for an extended business trip and the staff made sure my every need was met. No washer/dryer? No problem, courtesy van took me over to the sleep inn their sister property to take care of it. No microwave? No problem, one in the lobby. Can't drive in Iowa snow? No problem, the van will take you where you need to go. Only drawback? The workout room is small and has only two treadmills and an old school elliptical. I would say "no problem" as they offer $10 a day passes to a gym close by; however, that's a little steep if you're there for awhile. The staff is what makes this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out or get up early. You can hear the housekeepers and other guests checking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonein321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    100
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
112
66
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff. We were given 'tickets' for a free wine/beer at their early evening reception, which also included peanuts and a hot snack. Rooms are very spacious and decorated unlike the run-of-the-mill hotels. It would have been nice, though, to have a refrigerator, since we stayed for multiple days. 2nd floor had a nice sitting area that overlooked the front entrance and dining area. Each morning there was a 'special' served along with many other food selections. We noticed many business professionals were staying here. It is in a quiet neighborhood, but is close to restaurants. We had a view of a large open area out our window. We would highly recommend Wildwood.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were in Des Moines for a business meeting and stayed at the Wildwood Lodge motel - totally impressed! Love the ambience of this place - SUPER breakfasts included freshly made fried potatos w/cheese, onions & green pepper; scrambled eggs, freshly baked biscuits w/country gravy, fresh-cut fruit, & cappucchino - as well as all of the "normal" offerings of bagels, toast, sweet rolls, yogurt, juices, etc. Rooms very clean, staff very welcoming & friendly, ... you get the picture. Would be my choice every time I visit this city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaTo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last summer (June, 2013) and to today we still remember its charm! The rooms are spacious, stylish and super clean. Since I am wheel-chair bound I certainly appreciated the ample handicapped bathroom and roll-in shower. We were pleasantly surprised by the ‘happy hour’ and breakfast was also very good.
Gina Sacasa-Ross

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed two nights here this week. We did the tour of the Bridges of Madison County. The Wildwood Lodge has huge clean rooms. Snacks in the lobby every evening from 5:30pm until 7:00pm was a nice touch. The front desk employees were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was awesome, fried potatoes and scrambled eggs along with fresh fruit and pastries. One of the best places we have stayed in along time.

Room Tip: We had the king room and was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RETIRED0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel has such a neat atmosphere. The decor is pretty cool. I checked in late and as soon as I walked in the door there was a friendly face behind the counter to greet me. The check in process was quick and easy. The breakfast the next morning was delcious!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I stay in alot of hotels and this place has had the friendliest staff I have ever met! Right from the front desk to the cleaning lady! Hotel is starting to show some wear and tear but it is exceptionally clean...There is a very good reason it is rated number 1 on trip advisor!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoomzoomec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#11 of 48 in Des Moines
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#3 of 11 in Urbandale
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sterling Hotel and Suites
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Property: Wildwood Lodge
Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing