We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas”
Review of Wildwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wildwood Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Certificate of Excellence
IA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Family Christmas”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Always have our family Christmas in January ... and picked this as our gathering location this year. Lodge worked with us on group pricing which was appreciated. We did not book a party room in advance, but once on site realized there was no space large enough for us to congregate without disturbing other guests. The staff made us a great deal on a party room we used all weekend and had it set up in no time. Biggest issue was probably the size of the breakfast area, it was pretty crowded both Sat & Sun morning. Ice storm hit Sat night and the staff did an excellent job of getting salt on the sidewalks and parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBJB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    102
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
118
67
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had won an overnight stay at this hotel but would definitely visit here again. Lots of parking, staff were friendly, rooms were large and very clean. TV was huge with a great selection of channels. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with a built-in seat, no tub but that was not a problem for us at all. There was a blow dryer and lighted makeup mirror and a handy shampoo, conditioner and shower gel dispenser in the shower. The décor in both the room and throughout the hotel was attractive with a homey, comfortable atmosphere. The lobby had a fireplace and was full of large round tables where I believe breakfast is served in the mornings. We did not take advantage of the breakfast but many guests were making good use of the tables for gathering around throughout the day and evening. The walls/ceilings did seem a little thin, it was easy to hear other guests moving around in their rooms which might pose a problem if you have noisy neighbors but we didn't have any real problem it. I believe there was also a pool however we did not take advantage of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKMC61448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ended up staying at the Wildwood during our trip to Des Moines for the 2013 NCAA wrestling championship. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with nice bathrooms. The complimentary breakfast was great. Real eggs and a wide selection of fruit, pasries and cereal. Would have been nice to have some type of meat but all in all good food. The coffee was a little weak for my taste but it was hot and plentiful. The service was great. They have a nice pool and lobby area.There are restaurants within walking distance. The price was very reasonable. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spery, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Wildwood Lodge while a family member was having surgery. We got the Mercy Hospital discount and were happy with everything. We had checked out after the first night, then complications required us to stay again. They had no problem giving us the discount again and expressed their sympathy over our situation. We were in two different rooms, on the same floor. One had a mirror outside of the bathroom, the second did not and we preferred the extra mirror with three of us getting ready. The second room also was noisier- street side.

We did not take advantage of the free beer/wine or soda coupons, but they were a nice perk. Breakfast was good, and a different offering the two mornings- scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy the first morning and make your own waffles with various toppings the second day.

Staff was pleasant, hotel was clean. We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for three nights while attending a health care conference. Early 20th century 'lodgy' decor, and staff was welcoming and friendly. Were given two drink tickets upon check-in for beer or wine during our stay. Had a small gift shop area at the entrance area. When asking directions to the conference location, both the manager and gal at the front desk got on computers to use Mapquest. Although the rooms were showing some wear, they were clean and the pillows were great. Had a great night's sleep every night. The large breakfast area had scrambled eggs and varied their other choices from waffles to biscuits and gravy to wonderful new potatoes with onion, green peppers and cheese. Had a cappuccino machine with hot chocolate and two flavored coffees, various bread, muffin, bagel and sweet roll choices, fresh fruit and cut up honeydew and other melons. Had a couple appetizers about 5 PM each evening. Located close to Valley West Mall and a number of great places to eat. Not that far from Jordan Creek Mall either. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would go back again!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are close to the breakfast area. Parking in the back is as convenient for check-i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmasheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mars
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff of the Wildwood Lodge is very friendly, and very accomadating. Rooms are clean and spacious. They have a great social hour, and their breakfast is very good with an array of hot and cold items. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here over a Saturday night with the three grandkids. The Poolside Room was incredibly convenient. The staff was efficient and friendly, rooms were clean. The only thing that did not impress was the breakfast. I typically don't like to make the waffles that most hotels these days are so fond of, but as that was the only hot food available, we made them for the kids, and they were not that great. The bed was amazing, had a great nights sleep. Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizeeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Des Moines West Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#14 of 48 in Des Moines
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
4.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.9 mi away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Lodge

Property: Wildwood Lodge
Address: 11431 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildwood Lodge Clive, a unique lodging experience, conveniently located in West Des Moines at University Avenue exit off Interstate 80/35. The Wildwood Lodge features indoor pool with a raised spa and a waterfall, all beneath a beautiful three-story atrium. No matter the reason for your visit, you will enjoy choosing from an extensive variety of room types. Thanks to our great staff and beautiful space, our hotel is a popular destination for family reunions, wedding groups and sports teams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Wildwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Hotel Clive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing