We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem! Don't miss!”
Review of Wide River Winery

Wide River Winery
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wide River Winery is located in Clinton IA on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River at its widest point. The tasting room offers up to 5 tastes of their locally made award winning wines. Beautiful expanded deck that can be enjoyed Spring, Summer, Fall and some mild Winter days too!
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem! Don't miss!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Who would have guessed this. A wonderful winery experience in Clinton Iowa! But don't let this scenic location fool you... At first I didn't quite know what to expect when traveling up the drive.... BUT keep going for a wonderful experience. I always try local wineries; this is one of beat experiences I have had anywhere!

These are excellent wines! Their gapes are both local and California. But the art of the wine maker comes through.. Fruit, tasting notes, are perfect. This is a hidden gem. I chatted with friends who visited three local wineries and this was their favorite!

Go, sip, view, enjoy ... If you have a few extra minutes try the winery over the tasting room ... Knowledgeable, nice staff.. Truly a hidden mid western gem!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBrienIA, Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Good day,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the winery. I hope your travels will bring you back for a return visit.
Kind regards,
Martha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minooka, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sit Back and Enjoy the Wine!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wide River winery is now one of our favorites. We visited for the first time last weekend and had a fabulous time. We picked a bottle of wine to share and sat out on the large deck overlooking the river while listening to live music. Can't get much better...actually it does. We were very warmly served by the super friendly and accommodating staff (Martha and Mary) would even come out to the deck and ask if we needed anything. It was the perfect way to spend a beautiful Father's Day afternoon. Last but not least - the wine is great! The have a good selection of white and red wines and even a Port that was surprisingly good for a local winery.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKP_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WideRiverWineryIA, Public Relations Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review for our Clinton winery. You came on a great day. Glad that you enjoyed our selection of wines - the Ms. Issippi Port is actually fortified with grape brandy from Mississippi River Distilling Company in Le Claire. We have an additional tasting room down the street from them - come visit us sometime. We have live music in the courtyard every Friday from 5 - 8 PM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
“Great views and secluded location!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The winery overlooks the Mississippi River and has two options for seating: inside and the outdoor patio. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They offer free wine tastings for 5 of their signature wines and suggest which ones based on your preferences. I went in to order about two bottles and left with six! The location is "off the beaten path" but that is an advantage. The location is beautiful and secluded which offers a nice, relaxing experience. Definitely a must stop if you find yourself in the Clinton, IA area. They also have a LeClaire, IA location as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBrienIA, Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting the winery. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the experience. Please join us every 3rd Sunday of the month for live music from 2-5PM. You can bring a picnic lunch to enjoy on the deck overlooking the Mississippi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This winery is built on the hillside overlooking the Mississippi River. A great deck etched in the trees is the perfect setting to sit back and relax while enjoying some delicious wines

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank timpe34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WideRiverWineryIA, Public Relations Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We appreciate the review. Did you get a chance to take a walk on the Bluff Trail on the property? The look out from there has one of the best views of the Mississippi River. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wine for life”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The lovely ladies at the winery were wonderful. I got quite the education on different wines and how to use some of them and how to combine them with food items. I also got a little extra attention because I was graduating that weekend from Ashford University.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra 1 C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrishKate, Manager at Wide River Winery, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for celebrating your graduation from Ashford with us. We hope that when your travels bring you back to IA you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wide River Winery also viewed

 

Been to Wide River Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing