We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice rooms marred by funky smell - either mildew from a/c or the pool down the hall. My family loved the breakfast, but I found it filling but unhealthy. Staff was very friendly and when I asked for a discounted rate, they found one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for the friendliness and helpfulness of their staff. The cleanliness was fantastic, the service was amazing. My husband and I enjoyed their leisure facilities (small, but enough for us). The suite was well equipped and spacious. The breakfast was wholesome and plentiful. We had a stress free stay, which was much needed after our long and troublesome flight to Chicago. If only the airline had been as helpful and efficient!! By the end of our stay we were on first name terms with some of the staff (Carrie, on the cleaning staff, could not have been nicer. We were not there for a holiday, but were there to see our daughter off to the local university. Clinton itself has a lot of industry and a regular noisy train service running nearby, which might disturb some travellers.Well done and thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, you will notice how clean everything smells! Everything is clean, clean, clean. Continental breakfast was yummy. Different things offered each day. The pool was warm and pleasant. Hot tub was available and fine. All workers were helpful, nice and not foreign. There was always a full cookie supply at the front desk. Hot cocoa and tea/coffee are available 24/7.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Located on the west side of Clinton at the intersection of 2 main highways. The hotel is 3 miles out of town. The staff were very helpful and could not do enough to help us particularly Carrie who kept our room clean and tidy. The inclusive breakfast was ample and freshly made. A Walmart and restaurants were in walking distance handy given the hotel does not offer any evening meals. A splendid stay but very busy and quite often the hotel had no spare rooms given the amount of construction workers looking for rooms. Supplemented with a well equipped gym and pool.

Room Tip: Stay towards the back of the hotel away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve130663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from Chicago to visit a local winery. This property was suitable, although in an area that seemed unpopulated by other neraby operating businesses. A large parking lot with only hotel guests parking there...a little spooky. Appeared to be a dying part of Clinton economically. Our check-in was fast and convenient and staffing was adequate. Our room was clean. We were worried about room location, being on the second floor next to the open stairway to the nearby lobby area. However, no problems were noted and we didn't notice any noise. The comp breakfast was very good. Enjoyed drive-by sightseeing of the city, riverside and marina areas. Very pretty country with nice views. The local Dairy Queen had a metal magnet that drew our vehicle in for hot fudge sundaes! Couldn't help it...not our fault! Also visited a local casino for a beer and slots!

A downside....this part of the city appears to have some sort of rendering plant that dispersed an unpleasant odor. We drove through that area on the way to the hotel, however, did not notice it so much at our destination. Made us want to avoid returning that way to visit other parts of Clinton.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet even though close to stairway and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the cleanness place we ever stay in. Staff were very friendly and ready to do anything to make guest happy. Swimming pool and spa were clean and warm. Breakfast was great. Room had microwave and refrigerator . we enjoy 24 hours coffee and cookies. We will recommend this motel to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on East side has nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed with a family of 3 for 3 nights. The suites are a great option for a small family, rather than getting 2 rooms. The breakfast was OK, rather typical for hotel morning feedings. They did change the breakfast meats and potatoes so it wasn't identical each AM. The room was fairly clean, however there were a few hairs left in the tub.
There were a few guests who felt maybe a little too much at home. Once you're beyond 15, you really can dress to stay in the lobby or for breakfast.
All the hotels in this section of the city have one common problem. The cat food plant, or whatever it is, makes the whole area reek of canned cat food.
The hotel was quiet enough, beds were fine, and pool area was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPAnRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 9 in Clinton
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Clinton
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Clinton
Super 8 Clinton
#6 of 9 in Clinton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
Oak Tree Inn Clinton
#5 of 9 in Clinton
28 reviews
5.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fulton
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton

Address: 2224 Lincoln Way, Clinton, IA 52732-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range: $98 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Clinton
Clinton Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Clinton Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing