We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Montauk”

Montauk Historical Site
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Clermont
Attraction details
Kimberling City, Missouri
Level Contributor
188 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Magnificent Montauk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The volunteers that serve at this state historical site are both very informative and gracious. The mansion belonged to Iowa's first governor and his wife, William and Anna Larrabee. The home is furnished with original furniture and other artifacts. The home has two pianos which I was offered the opportunity to play with great joy. The grounds of this fourteen room stone and brick home are equally impressive including several statutes honoring famous Americans. This peaceful setting north of Clermont, Iowa offers one a unique step back in time and insight into one of Iowa's gubernatorial families. The tour is free to the public and lasts approximately 45 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timmer304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Field Trip with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited this historical site with my kids on a field trip for school. Very interesting part of Iowa's history. Well documented and put together for all ages.

Helpful?
Thank TROYL256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“early iowa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great trip in time, to early days of Iowa settlement. Excellent stewardship of materials and furnishings from the period of settlement of the state.

Helpful?
Thank Mahgreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glorious 1890's Living in high Society.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have visited his many times since 1978. Everything in this home of Iowa's 12th Governonr is all orginal as the family kept everything just as it was when Mrs. Larrabee died in hte early 1900s. Some excellant Art pieces and it was all given to the State of Iowa. It is a Free Museum with free guided tours from spring to fall. The State has maitained it well so we can see an actual piece of Iowa's History.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting house, beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This beautiful old home is open for tours. The guides are enthusiastic about their job and know lots of stories about the original residents. The grounds are also quite nice, and I wish I had had more time to walk around the grounds.

On the way to the house, I saw signs for tours of historic Clermont, which I'm sure would also be interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katya008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montauk Historical Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing