We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of noise and fould odor.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Clear Lake, United States
1 review
“A lot of noise and fould odor.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is old and has seen better days. The rooms are very small and out dated. The HVAC system was extremly noisy. Along with that nois I could hear the person in the next roon snore all night. It was as if the person was in my room. My room and its bathroom had a fouls odor. Some strange object on a shelf in the area you chould hang clothes. It appeared to be made of ceiling tiles and duct tape. Have no idea what it was. The hotel is chopped up and difficult to navagate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
John, thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel. The item in closet on shelf is a condensate pump for the hvac unit, not every room has them just a hand full of rooms that needed them to make the system work in that room. I know I responded to the review that you did on Medialla as well but we did put this room out of order to look at the ceiling tile and grid work. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    103
    56
    33
    9
See reviews for
82
58
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I come to this area every 6-8 weeks for work, I love the consistency of this hotel. Rooms are always clean, beds are always comfortable, and the staff is always friendly. Location is not the greatest for dining options, but Just a few miles down the road to lots of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at our Hotel. We appreciate your patronage! We look forward to your return.

Thanks, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnedah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stopped here en route to Oshkosh WI late at night. Front desk were great and the roon superficially OK UNTIL I looked for a power source behind the armchair. Bad move. No-one has cleaned behind the chair since 1988! Dust and cobwebs everywhere. So then I checked behind the bedtables and under the bed - ditto.
The hotel was OK, but very dated and I half expected to see Dean Martin & Jerry Lewis walk down the corridor. That would be OK if it was clean???
Breakfast was average, the room attendant not very happy, I still have no idea what the "eggs" were - microwaved eggpowder by the look of them.

Room Tip: All very similar I imagine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulgamagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I wish I knew what room you were in so I could check our deep cleaning book. We deep clean every room twice a year as well as doing preventive maintenance.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know and accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel had friendly kitchen staff and a nice variety of breakfast foods. It was clean overall but the bathroom floor grout showed signs of former flooding. The room was small but had good air control. The biggest negative was a poor bed that had springs you could feel and didn't have support. Our stay was short so we didn't see or use other amenities like the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am pleased you were happy with breakfast and the service of cleanliness and kitchen staff. I am disappointed to read about the bed. I wish I knew what room you were in so I could personally go and check it out. We get all of our beds made locally and all of our beds are within five years old.

Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

i have spend many more nights at this hotel. The staff is very good at meeting the needs of those who stay here. I spend many nights in hotels because of business. Each time I stay somewhere it is a new experience. I constantly receive first impression. This hotel has been consistent from day one to provide the services I needed while i stayed here. I highly recommend them as a place to stay when visiting Clear Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Jeffrey,

We do our very best at trying to meet every customers needs. It is rewarding to do know that we are making a difference and trying to make our guest feel like they are home.

Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As Clear Lake is my home town, I visit many times a year and I always stay at this hotel. Service is excellent, rooms clean and modern and location is fantastic as it is close to restaurants, gas stations, convenience stores, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our Hotel. I am passing on your comments to the different departments, knowing that the staff will be inspired to continue their efforts in providing good service.

Thanks, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful! I stay in allot of hotels for my job and this one meets all of my needs: fitness center, Clean, good breakfast, great location.... Oh I and good Coffee:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfaught, General Manager at Best Western Holiday Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Your comments on our performance were most generous and shall be passed on to the apporpriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.

Thank You, Lori Faught General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#4 of 8 in Clear Lake
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Holiday Lodge

Property: Best Western Holiday Lodge
Address: 2023 7th Ave N, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Holiday Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clear Lake
Clear Lake Best Western
Best Western Holiday Lodge Clear Lake, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing