We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Reliable, Affordable Accommodations with a Decent Restaurant on the Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I've stayed here three or four times now on my way up North. Rooms are clean and adequate, as is the continental breakfast. I'd definitely stay here again if my itinerary called for a night in Clear Lake.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the seperate building in rear
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProRecreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Holiday Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 318 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were on a road trip to North Dakota and had our two German Shorthaired Pointers with us. This Best Western was at a good stopping point and they allow pets. We had a room that had both an internal and external door so that was handy for taking the dogs & unloading/loading the car. They had a decent continental breakfast and the AAA rate was only $66. Certainly not the Ritz Carlton but it was fine for what we needed, expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLOPkgQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I called to get information on a room for a weekend, and was rudely told they were full. The woman acted like she didn't even want to be on the phone with me. TERRIBLE customer service, and terrible first impression. I'd sleep in my car before I stayed there based on her rudeness!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Itcouldbeworse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My wife and I were traveling home from Kansas City, MO. I had been in an accident and was pretty banged up. the staff noticed I was looking a little worse for wear and decided to upgrade us to whirlpool suite at no extra cost. needless to say when ever I'm anywhere close to Clear Lake, IA and need a place to stay it will be here. Thank you again for all your kindness.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_spike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We came to Clear Lake to visit the Surf Ballroom and really liked the place in general. This was just a convenient overnight stop and was easy to find and close to Subway, Perkins, & Denny's a little out of the downtown area. Bennigans was attached and gave 10% discount to hotel guests. It was by the main highway and railway and there was some road noise but it was not an issue. It was Friday night and there was a wedding party in and previous reviewers have had problems with 'parties' but we were lucky and not affected.
It was an older property. There was a very friendly lady on the front desk and she said we had been upgraded but the room was not very big at all and nothing special so I'm glad we didn't have a standard room! There was a fridge. It had a full length mirror (which is a gripe of mine if they don't!) & the storage and lighting was OK but there was no microwave or safe. The bathroom was tiled and had recently been regrouted. The bath towels were softer than most but the hand towels were thin and had that smell of damp.
There was a guest laundry. $1 each for powder, wash & dry.
Breakfast was fairly basic but they did have hot choices. Cereal, oats, toast, mini muffins, apples, oranges, sausages, omelettes & biscuits & gravy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

First off, I'd have to agree with the previous reviewer about be pool being cloudy, It is very chlorinated, too. Make sure to shower immediately after your swim or you will shrivel up. If you have kids who really like to swim, you may want to steer clear of this hotel. If you stay on a 'party night' like a Saturday like we did, get ready for some noise. Down the hallway from us, there were some partyers repeatedly slamming their door as hard as they could at 2 in morning. They were also wandering around the hallway be very noisy. I could hear all thier drunken conversations. Our Sunday night stay was alot quieter. Watch out for the crowds on weekends for weddings and other events they might have there. Before you stay, make sure you get all your questions answered and get some names, too. We received different information from different front desk clerks while we were there. Hotel guests recieve 10% at the adjoining Bennigans. We found some of thier meals consist of small portions and we both left the table still hungry. The hotels continental breakfast was not bad: waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, etc. The rooms are a little small but not bad. There was no exhaust in our bathroom. The location is great. It's right off I-35 and you can walk to lots of nearby restauants. Don't worry about noise from the railroad tracks in back. We did not see or hear one train while we stayed there. Also keep in mind this hotel consists of 2 units: the main one (which has everything like the pool and resturaunt) and the detached one in back. This hotel served as a good base for us for exploring Clear Lake and is very close to the Buddy Holly (RIP) crash site.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zannian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This is not a luxury accommodation, but you would not know that by the way you're treated. The people here are extremely professional and friendly, and helped make sure our stay was a good one.

We spent a weekend here in the winter for a kids youth sports tournament. They went out of their way to help us arrange for rooms at good rates, and provided little extras (personalized luggage tags for each player's hockey bag for example) that made everyone feel welcome.

The one drawback was below-average service some guests received at the on-site restaurant, where they were told it would be an hour wait for food in a half-empty eatery.

The pool area is relatively utilitarian, but met our needs in providing a place for kids and parents to unwind after hockey games. Overall, this was a great place to stay while visiting northern Iowa.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Kramerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
0.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
27.0 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#4 of 8 in Clear Lake
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Holiday Lodge

Address: 2023 7th Ave N, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range: $102 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Holiday Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clear Lake
Clear Lake Best Western
Best Western Holiday Lodge Clear Lake, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing