We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Clear Lake”

7 Stars Family Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Clear Lake
Cuisines: American
Description: Website listed above focuses more on their other location in Hampton, Iowa but is representative of the Clear Lake location. Phone (641) 231-8026.
Restaurant details
Description: Website listed above focuses more on their other location in Hampton, Iowa but is representative of the Clear Lake location. Phone (641) 231-8026.
Des Moines Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Clear Lake”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Family owned cafe serving hot food at prices you don't see every day. Stopped on the way up to N. MN from Iowa for breakfast and the way back for lunch. The lunch special was chicken fried steak, potatoes and beans for $6.99, added a piece of pie to share, and the meal for two was $15. The food was quick, great for a road traveler, and so hot I had to blow on it a minute. Clean restrooms and friendly staff, lots of locals. Skip the chain restaurants at the main exit to the North and stop here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DizeeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow this place was recommended by Micro folks.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

value for price-supper service-helpful-drinks good both hot and cold-nice portions-food done to your wishes-wish we had this operation in our area

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly server, clean establishment, horrible lunch ...”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This stop was not our first choice, but because of its positive reviews and the fact that our first selection was closed on Mondays, we decided to give it a try. There is no curb appeal at all but the interior is both clean and comfortable. We were the only diners seated in the restaurant, though that didn't bother me since they're seemingly known for their good breakfasts more than meals served at other times of the day. Our waitress was ultra sweet and attentive but could not answer questions regarding most items on the menu. Thankfully though, our conversation with her afforded the time necessary for our meat loaf and grilled cheese to become cold ... we left before she could offer us an opportunity to have them warmed up, and given her pleasant demeanor, she would have done exactly that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointing !”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Right off I35 you can find 7 Stars Family Restaurant. It's a simple little restaurant, quite plain, but tidy. I had the chicken and dumpling soup, with crackers. It's was quite bland, really. I was hoping for a soup a few notches above, what one would expect from a canned soup at home. But no such luck today.

Our waitress was quick to get out our drink orders, and the soup arrived quickly, and hot. However, during dessert we enquired about the banana creme pie. My father was not entirely sure he got a banana creme pie while tasting it. We asked the waitress what was in the pie, and she had no idea, even when looking at the pie.

A less than average experience for me here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigUncleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Love the hash browns that were (and I usually don't eat like this!) covered with cheese, diced ham and green peppers. I couldn't believe how good that was! Staff friendly, good prices.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank epomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 7 Stars Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Clear Lake, IA
 

Been to 7 Stars Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing