We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A budget hotel done right.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A budget hotel done right.”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have stayed here several times over the last ten years and never been unhappy with accommodations. My last stop was in early December 2011. The cost for a two bed room, with tax, was about $83. Everything was done correctly. Room was clean and in good repair and the bedding and linen were of good quality. Bathroom was well stocked with towels and soap. Breakfast was a little of the spare side, but okay. There is a Culver's a few yards from the front door which makes for a handy place to grab dinner.

Room Tip: I was told that two-bed rooms were larger, but the same price as rooms with one bed. Might as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    198
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
202
164
53
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great location right off I-35, decent rooms, but whole place reeked of smoke, and we were in a non-smoking room. This may be an Iowa thing because another place we stayed was the same thing, reeked of smoke. Walking distance to fast and sit down food. Very nice staff and average free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wi
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

On 6/8/11 I reserved a room on line, confirmation # 59197442, 2 Queen Bed, smoking room, Wi-Fi, refrig, micro, etc. $86.90 + tax, with a request to get a NON smoking room if possible. When we arrived 6/18/11, they did not have the reservation, inspite of me providing the confirmation number. All they had left to offer me was single queen rooms at $64.71 + tax. We had to pay for two rooms at a substantially higher cost, they both reeked of foul, vile smoke and neither had a refrig. Plus we had to stay out of the room for over an hour as they tried using an "ozinator" to reduce the stench. Needless to say, on our way back thru Clear Lake, Microtel was NOT used, nor will it be used in that city ever again.

Room Tip: Call the hotel to re-confirm the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redvette69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This Microtel is perfect. I like how the Microtel company has set up their rooms. The mirrored wall behind the bed gives a very nice illusion of more size. Our room was very clean. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast. Very pet friendly. Nice area to walk our pup.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I was in Clear Lake for a concert at the Surf Ballroom which I have always wanted to see a show there with all the history of the place with Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and The Big Bopper. When Looking for a place to stay this was the only one that was cheap and good. On arrival I was met by an older lady who was very friendly and helpful about the area and the ins and out. The lobby was decked out in Buddy Holly and Winter Dance Party stuff which was cool.

The room was very small but was perfect for me and I could see there being problems for 2 people in the room as it is that small. The TV was in a bad place in the corner of the room on top of the closet but again the room is small and in need of an update with some flat screens so that your neck doesn't hurt after watching TV. But the place is very clean

The internet is slow, not like the internet at the Microtel Vegas but that's is to be expected. Also all the fast food places were closed by midnight on a Saturday but there is a Walmart in Mason City and other places there about 6 miles down the road to the East.

All in all a good place to stay for a night or two

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loretto, minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

very clean hotel, nice rooms, great staff
lots of places nearby to eat

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chips99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Northern Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were in Iowa for business and pleasure - combining a concert at the Diamond Jo casino in Northwood with a business meeting in Waterloo. The Clear Lake Microtel was our second choice to staying at the Country Inn and Suites at the casino, which was full. We received a fair night's sleep, in a modest but clean room, with a basic continental breakfast, for reasonable price. It served our purposes considering we were there only to sleep, but would have been disappointing had we more time to relax in the room. Amenities were very minimal - no shampoo and conditioner provided. Bathroom flooring was linoleum that was pulling up next to the tub, but overall the room was in good condition. Would stay there again in the same circumstances, but would try to get a casino reservation earlier to prevent the need. Made a trip to the Buddy Holly /Richie Valens/Big Bopper memorial. Enjoy the music but would not characterize ourselves as huge fans - although probably have seen LaBamba too many times - but it was well worth the effort. Neat stuff left by others on pilgramages - dark framed glasses, guitar picks, pennies - made the place feel authentic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We_Like_to_Go_Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
0.3 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#4 of 8 in Clear Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mason City
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
Address: 1305 N 25th St, Clear Lake, IA 50428-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clear Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Clear Lake Hotel Clear Lake
Microtel Clear Lake
Clear Lake Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Clear Lake Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing