We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small town experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western La Grande Hacienda

Best Western La Grande Hacienda
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great small town experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

This hotel is top notch! My family and I flew in to the Cherokee Airport on a private plane. The owner of the Best Western picked us up at the airport late at night and drove us to the hotel. There is a restaurant at the hotel, and the food was good and reasonably priced. The room was clean and well appointed, and the staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our short stay. The complimentary HOT breakfast was filling and delicious, the beds were comfortable, and the owner went out of her way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. Thanks!!!

I would recommend this hotel to any traveler looking for a clean, comfortable hotel and a hot breakfast at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean rooms, and hot breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing bad!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyhawk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
12
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hjf46
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed here to attend my Grandmother's funeral in a nearby town. I was worried about what to expect, but I left feeling 100% satisfied. The managers were very friendly and accommodating to the frequent special requests from our large group. The hotel was very clean considering its age. Everyone was happy with the breakfast offerings. The pool was very well maintained. Great spot if you have a reason to come to Cherokee! *And be sure to eat at the Mexican restaurant--it was great!

  • Liked — Quite clean
  • Disliked — Staff smoking outside of doors
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hjf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

Ok, so here's the deal...This motel offers some really great amenities that makes this motel go from your "standard" motel to the "above average" motel. The pool area is awesome. Great indoor pool and a hot tub that is actually hot. This hotel offers a filling continental breakfast and the staff is very friendly. I highly recommend the Steakhouse inside the hotel. I thought the food was amazing and it's very affordable. When looking for an affordable night's stay with a pretty good amount of amenities, try this Best Western!

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
Thank EvanBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, Ca
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Well Stayed there 3 nites for a family get together and was generally happy with the outcome. The room was dated but had a great view of the indoor pool. My room carpet felt damp but wasn't sure if it's the ac unit or humidity in general. Regardless, I didn't complain about it and was happy. My kids enjoyed the pool but make sure you don't touch the lap rope unless you want to be spoken too from management. Towels are big, rooms were clean and staff were wonderful! The Chapperal Restaurant had one of the best Iowa porkchops I've had for dinner. Breakfast was great too for a small hotel. It had all of the continental breakfast like most bigger hotels, but you can make your own waffles. It had scramble eggs, toast, sausage patties, hot and cold cereal, bananas, all the juices, milk, cold/hot tea, and 2 choices of coffee as well. All in all, I would stay here again in a heart beat. Only 3 motels in Cherokee far as I know and I'm happy with the La Grande Hacienda

  • Liked — Continental Breakfast with waffles, biscuits n gravy, sausage
  • Disliked — Outdated front(wasn't a deterant)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cruiseman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

Our stay started out nice enough, however, we quickly discovered the hallways smelled like pet urine right outside our door in the hallway. This hotel allows pets, so they should be cleaning their carpets more. It is unacceptable to leave them urine stained. The smell was undeniable.

The rooms were a bit outdated with a western theme, however, they were very clean. The mattresses needed to be replaced as they slumped towards the middle, but were still relatively comfortable.

We had what seemed to be a very nice continental breakfast before we left the following morning. However, upon arrival at our next stop, my spouse and I both became ill, and needed to use the bathroom immediately. We did not eat anything in between leaving the hotel and arriving at our next stop. Additionally, we hadn't eaten anything since 4 p.m. the day of our arrival, so we know something on the the continental breakfast was the likely culprit.

That said, the staff was very pleasant, and accomodating. The pool area was very nice, and our family enjoyed it very much. We had stayed at this hotel years ago, and had nothing but a glowing report then about our stay. We rebooked based on our first experience there. It appears they need to be more careful on food handling, and/or temperatures of their food servers. They also need to clean all of their carpets frequently if they are going to have pets permitted on the property.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — urine smelling halls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marismom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2003

We stayed here in July, 2003. This was a very pleasant experience, and the whole staff was just wonderful. The rooms are extremely clean! The towels are nice - and not like "handy wipes", and we actually received 4 bath towels each day-without having to request extra!!! The restaurant food was great, and the pool is wonderfully kept.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
0.1 mi away
Cherokee Inn
Cherokee Inn
#2 of 3 in Cherokee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hometown Guesthouse
Hometown Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Marcus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
20.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
19.7 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#1 of 4 in Storm Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western La Grande Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western La Grande Hacienda

Property: Best Western La Grande Hacienda
Address: 1401 North 2nd Street, Cherokee, IA 51012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western La Grande Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western La Grande Hacienda,located in Cherokee IA offers quality accomodation to people coming to Cherokee County,IA.We offer nice spacious rooms,with complementary WI-FI,Complementary HOT Breakfast including Sausages/Eggs/Fresh Hot Waffles along with a nice selection of Milk,Juices,Fruits,Yogurt,Cereals,Breads.Our Friendly Staff tries their best to take care of your needs,while in Cherokee IA.We also have a Business Center as well as Indoor Pool.We look forward to be your host hotel while in Cherokee IA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your Best Western La Grande Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cherokee
Cherokee Best Western
Best Western La Grande Hacienda Cherokee, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing