We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family reunion”
Review of Cherokee Inn

Cherokee Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherokee Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family reunion”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Several people in our group stayed at the Cherokee Inn. The rooms were clean, the owner was very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast good. We needed a room where we could congregate and they had one that was perfect for us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you to you and all of your family members for staying with us over the week. Hope the drive back to home was a bit easy for your mom. Again thank you so much for taking your time to do a review for my motel.
Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
5
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The owner/staff were helpful in pointing out local attractions. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely decorated. Great value for the price. I would come back and stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hello Cynthia Thank you for staying at our hotel. And thanks for taking your time to do a review on our hotel. We will see you guys the next time you have a spur of the moment trip to Cherokee area. Shirish-Cherokee Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. This is a former Super 8 hotel and now is the Cherokee Inn. The rooms were pretty standard, nice and clean. There are a few signs of age and could use some slight lipstick and rouge updating.
The breakfast is phenomenal for a hotel. They have a griddle running where you can cook your own, eggs, bacon, sausage patties and/or hash browns. They also have English muffins, bagels, cold cereal, waffles, fruit and orange/apple juice.
The room was comfortable, but the chair in the corner was a bit tight in the king room. We had two rooms, a king and the two queens (I think). The two bed room was a tad more comfortable appearing as the wife and I were in the King room.
Everyone in our group raved about the comfort of the beds and all slept extremely well.
You can not beat this place for the price and breakfast.
Absolutely recommend people traveling through Northwest Iowa should put this toward the top of their list for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Absolutely do not miss the opportunity to save some cash and take advantage of the FANTASTIC breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Executioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello. I want to Thank you for your time and effort you took to do a review for my motel. I just learned about it yesterday, so sorry for a delayed respond. I am very pleased on what you said. But yes I do understand it needs a little bit of more updating. But I have been doing the update one thing at time...and will do so as long as I am here. I am planning to do the upstairs window curtains during this summer and maybe the bathroom exhaust fans. Again Thank you very much for staying with us and using TripAdvisor.

Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had to call the hotel for a few different reasons and the service was excellent.
I had a nice, quiet, clean, room! THANK YOU.
We had a very nice, much more selection for breakfast than I anticipated (make your own waffle machine, sausage, hashbrowns, bread/english muffins, cereal (hot and cold), beverages.
Wonderful stay from beginning to end. (4 guests, three rooms).
The value for the money was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Ann. Sorry for a delayed respond to the time and effort you took to do a review for my motel. I am very happy to hear what you said, it makes all the hard work and our effort worth every minute. We hope to see you and your friends family every time you need to stay in Cherokee. Thank you very much for staying with us and using TripAdvisor.

Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for five nights, and had very good experiences there.
The management of this hotel treated people very professionally and courteously. The continental breakfast is unique, in that there is a griddle where you can drop on individually-packaged sausages, and fry your own eggs. The very edge around the room had a bit of dust, but other than that, no major problems or issues encountered at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwesttraveler552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello, I wanted to Thank You for you time to do a review for my motel. Sorry for the delayed respond but I learned about your review just yesterday. We hope to see you ever time you come in Cherokee. Again thank you for using TripAdvisor and staying with us at the Cherokee Inn

Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I cannot commend the owner enough on how he runs this place. So friendly, clean and updated. They have a great breakfast and the owner is always checking in to make sure you have everything you need. I definitely recommend this hotel if you need to stay in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfgiants_girl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Thank you very much for your review of my motel. I am very pleased to hear on what you wrote. We will see you every time you come in Cherokee...right. And we will do our best to serve you and your family in the same manner each and every time. Thank you very much for your time and using TripAdivisor and Cherokee Inn.

Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Super 8 in Cherokee for one night. Our stay was enjoyable, and slightly better than expected. Overall we felt the stay was a good value and would definitely stay at this Super 8 again. It was apparent that the owners took pride in their business.

The gentleman who greeted us upon check in was very friendly and helpful. Our room had new carpet, which was nice except for the new carpet smell. The room was well appointed with a TV with cable, a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Overall the room was very clean, but my spouse was grossed out by a long black hair on her bath towel (but these things happen).

The view was poor, looking at some type of warehouse. The continental breakfast was what you'd expect, cereal, breads, and danish.

The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked fine. We did wake up to some loud people in the hallway around 3 am, so there could be a little more sound proofing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Molson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb b, Owner at Cherokee Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello, Monson. I know this is a very delayed respond to the time and review you did for my motel. But I have learned about your review just yesterday. I signed up with TripAdvisor and am now writing you to Thank you....Thank you very much for your time and a positive review for my motel. If you ever come back in Cherokee please stay with us one more time and see my newly remodeled breakfast room. Just use TripAdvisor to book your stay with us. Again Thank you Very Much.

Shirish Bhakta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
0.1 mi away
Best Western La Grande Hacienda
19.6 mi away
Super 8 Storm Lake
Super 8 Storm Lake
#2 of 4 in Storm Lake
311 reviews
21.1 mi away
King's Pointe Waterpark Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hometown Guesthouse
Hometown Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Marcus
8 reviews
19.3 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#3 of 4 in Storm Lake
5 reviews
20.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Holstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherokee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Inn

Property: Cherokee Inn
Address: 1400 N 2nd St, Hwy 59 North, Cherokee, IA 51012-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cherokee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cherokee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Cherokee
Super Eight Cherokee
Cherokee Super Eight
Cherokee Super 8
Cherokee Inn Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing