We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, friendly staff - what more could you ask for?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Charles City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly staff - what more could you ask for?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

When my family informed us we would be having a reunion in Charles City, Iowa, I was thinking this could be dismal. I was pleasantly surprised with the Sleep Inn.

In addition to being spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable. The staff was amazing - friendly, efficient and professional - particularly impressive given our family reunion and a wedding going on at the same time.

Bottomline: A great value and makes for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulKonrardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
6
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I stated at the Sleep Inn & Suites in Charles City, Iowa for 6 nights in late June and early July.

I was a bit disappointed that with that long of a stay they didn’t give us one of their suites. They did offer to move us after a day or so but at that point we had already settled in and didn’t want to move.

The room was adequate size. The bed was very comfortable. It was quite hot and humid during our stay and the air conditioner did a great job of keeping our room comfortable. It was also quiet.

The morning breakfast was fairly standard for a place in this budget range. Every morning there was some kind of pre-cooked egg dish, make your own waffles, pastries and bread, a limited offering of fresh fruit, boiled eggs, coffee and juice. It got monotonous after a few days but was convenient.

Don’t worry about a room with a view because there isn’t one. It’s on the edge of town with nothing much to see in any direction other than a car lot and a K-Mart. There is a nice convenience store and gas station right next to it that had a surprisingly good selection of food, drinks and sundries.

Next time we go to Charles City we’ll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panoramarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waseca, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Both of our keys needed to be re-programmed the second day, while we had hot food getting cold. Had to wait for a long time for the front desk to finish chatting with the folks ahead of me before I could get my card re-burned and get into my room. Several of the people in our work group had the same problem over 2 days. The clerks are told to tell everybody that it must be their cell phones (which is complete bull - google it), but neither of ours were near our phones, or any possible magnetic field. We travel alot, and stay in Comfort Inn-Best Western-Super 8-LaQuinta-Sleep Inn - type places. Very, VERY rarely does a key card not work, and it happened to just about everyone at this place, with the same lame excuse each time. I'm sure that's the norm here. What is probably actually the problem is their programmer and/or cards, but they won't admit it.

Such a pain for guests, and I should have called or emailed the manager, but I see this has been happening here for awhile, so they probably don't give a rip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoDakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

One night stay. The room was very large, the large tv stand held a 32 inch flat screen tv and a hidden fridge. Lots of room to throw your keys, purse etc. King size bed was comfy, pillows were lumpy though. The bathroom was awesome, LARGE counter area to put all of your toiletries and still have space left over! Plenty of hot water for the shower. Free breakfast had lots of choices, waffles, biscuits and gravy, the standard bagels/eng muff/muffins etc. was very good. Free wireless did not work, the server was not working but we did not care since we were just there for one night. Friendly staff at front desk. Would stay again. FYI - get the $1.00 charge for the safe removed :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

i got upgraded to a suite and it was a very nice, spacious room. it was all good, check in to check out

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolrman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Prairie, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We were driving from Cedar Rapids to ... what was supposed to be western Minnesota, when some bad weather caused us to get off of the highway sooner than planned. We stayed at the Sleep Inn and were very, very pleasantly surprised. Courteous, helpful staff; very comfortable room and very comfortable bed; great shower. And, the breakfast had more options than expected. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We arrived at the Sleep Inn and waited for 10 minutes to be checked-in. The two front desk clerks was busy talking to each other looking for something. They finally checked us in after 10 minutes. That night, we quickly discovered the walls are super thin. We can hear the next room's conversations, their TV on and people walking upstairs over us. To top it off, their was kids running up and down the hallway to the pool with no adult supervision. I did not get any SLEEP at the Sleep Inn. This place has poor customer service and thin walls. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles City
24.6 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
17.5 mi away
Super 8 Osage
Super 8 Osage
#2 of 2 in Osage
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Charles City
Super 8 Charles City
#1 of 4 in Charles City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Osage
17.9 mi away
Super 8 New Hampton
Super 8 New Hampton
#1 of 3 in New Hampton
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Address: 1416 S Grand Ave, Charles City, IA 50616-3672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Charles City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites Charles City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing