We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Charles City
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charles City
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were traveling across the country and needed a place to stay last minute. We chose this based on tripadvisor reviews and location. It was very inexpensive, we got a good night's sleep, and there was a nice breakfast, complete with a vanilla cappuccino machine. Our bathroom looked like it was cleaned in a hurry, and had we arrived earlier I would have had them reclean it. Can't complain though, since we booked last minute.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 188 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had stopped using Super 8s a few years ago, after a couple of poor experiances. We decided to take a chance on the Super 8 in Charles City IA. as it was the most convenient for our needs on this particular trip. We were pleasantly surprised to find this property to be very clean and up-to-date. The room furnishings appeared to to be fairly new. The bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty much standard fare including a hot waffle machine. We will definately use this motel again if the need arises

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a very clean, 2 story motel. It does not have an elevator, at least not that we could find. The rooms are clean and in good repair, with a small fridge and microwave. There was no iron or ironing board in the room. I would recommend bringing your own pillow, if possible. The main downfall was the breakfast, which left a lot to be desired. There was a wafle machine, 2 kinds of cereal, milk, bagels and white bread. No protein of any kind, or even wheat bread. We ate the breakfast the first morning we were there, and then discovered Dave's restaurant down the street. They serve a good, cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tremmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stay in this motel at least twice a year while visiting family. The people who operate this motel are extremely hospitable and make each stay a pleasant one. We can expect clean rooms, a good breakfast, and use of the lounge/breakfast area. Would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: We prefer room on ground floor; even these are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n1nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip a week ago, it looked pretty old from outside, but reviews were good. The reviews were correct. Room was clean with nice chair, internet worked well, and the frig in the room was a nice addition. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This budget motel was as clean and well-equipped as the pricier chains. The top-floor bedroom did not seem cheap, roomy enough and everything worked fine, though the internet was a bit slow. Breakfast was adequate though variety was limited. All in all, it was perfectly fine for the money spent. I would stay here again if in this part of Iowa.

Room Tip: Seek top floor for quietness & use AAA rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Rooms could have been cleaner. Had to have the comforter changed because it was definitly dirty. The A/C units don't keep the rooms as cool as I would have liked. Otherwise the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast has a waffle iron. And there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky7196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Charles City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Charles City

Address: 1411 S Grand Ave, Highway 218, Exit 218, Charles City, IA 50616-3670
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Charles City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Charles City
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Charles City 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Charles City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Charles City Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing