We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese”
Review of Lucky Dragon

Lucky Dragon
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Charles City
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Description: This is a locally owned Chinese restaurant. It is somewhat formal, but I cannot find a direct website for it online.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a locally owned Chinese restaurant. It is somewhat formal, but I cannot find a direct website for it online.
cedar falls
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This place has amazing service and very good food. We have been here several times and the food is very consistent. Nice to see the owners always there as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmeyerss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charles City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kung Pao WOW! ”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We are so grateful to have such a delicious Chinese restaurant in Charles City! Our favorites are the crab rangoon, hot & sour soup, and Kung Pao everything! Vivian makes sure the spices have a little extra heat- just as we like it.

Fast service, unbelievable value, very clean, take out available and Kung Pao WOW!

Step away from the Chinese buffet at HyVee and run to Lucky Dragon for the best in Charles City!

Helpful?
1 Thank RedCedarLodgeIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crab Rangoon!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only got appetizers but they were awesome! We have eaten there before though and the food is very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank murrayduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Its good food for a pretty reasonable price. The servers are friendly, and the food is served quickly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

First, the atmosphere. The walls are generously adorned with beautiful wall murals, with inlaid abalone. They're just gorgeous. Each table has a live, potted bamboo plant, and they actually use cloth napkins. The napkins are a very nice touch in such an affordable restaurant. There is barely perceptible Asian music playing in the background.

The service was perfect. Our Vietnamese server was prompt and checked in with us just the right amount. She chatted with us a little, and appeared to be genuinely interested in what we thought of the food. I hope she's our server the next time we go.

The food was delicious! The best I've had since I worked in a Chinese restaurant in the early '70s. Even the rice was outstanding. My partner had Crab Rangoon and General Tso's Chicken. Both were very well made. The chicken sauce was so flavorful! So much better than the glop you get at buffets. You could actually taste the chicken inside.

I ordered Steamed Dumplings and Shrimp Broccoli. The dumplings were perfection! Just the right amount of ginger. The accompanying sauce was a perfect accent for the dumplings. The shrimp dish was very good. The sauce was light, yet flavorful. Both of our entrees were exactly the right amount. We both finished our meals, satisfied but not stuffed.

The cost of our appetizers, entrees, beverages, and take-out fried rice came to just under $40. Not bad!

We have found our new favorite restaurant in Charles City. My only regret is that we didn't find the Lucky Dragon sooner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolArie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Dragon also viewed

Charles City, IA
Charles City, IA
 
Charles City, IA
Charles City, IA
 

Been to Lucky Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing