We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Cabins
Nearby Hotels
$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
28
4
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoda popstate parkprivate deckcoffee makertrading postair conditioningoff the highwaysaloonstovefutonhawsuitebeds
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 33 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay. Great location for hunters and very friendly and clean and cheaper than an other hotel around. Easy to find rifht off tje highway. Definitely will stay here next time I'm hunting.

.

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mj12227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickDeb C, Owner at Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2014

Thanks Mike for the nice review. We try to cater to hunters and offer nice big suites with full kitchens and private cabins, We are surrounded by hundreds of acres of public access timber and lakes and you can hunt and fish right out our back door. Years ago when we actually had pheasant and quail we had hunters from 37 different states in a single season that stayed with us. We do still have plenty of deer, bobcats, turkey and other small game and even an occasional mountain lion. Look forward to your next visit soon. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We were working on a bridge in town and thought we would try this motel. My guys LOVED it. We had two suites...one with 5 queens/1 futton/full kitchen/livingroom....and the other with 3 queens/futton/full kitchen/livingroom. Each room as Los had a private deck with gas grill. Will definitely be back to stay next time we're working in town.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickDeb C, Owner at Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2014

Anne Duffield,
We are so glad you took the time to check the online reviews before choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the great review and hope it helps other construction crews, families, weddings and reunions to realize that we are the best choice. We offer huge suites, cabins, RV sites, gas grills, hiking trails and shopping next door at the Trading Post. All things that is simply not available elsewhere. We offer the best per diem and also give 8th night FREE to all our guests. Thanks for the great review and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2014

Went back home for a HS reunion and decided to get a 'room' here with a friend I had not seen in 25 years. This was not a room, it was a house. Three bedrooms, a full size kitchen, dining room and living room and a large porch on it. This place is so cool. They are still working out a few kinks like location of electrical outlets, there are not many and some of the lights. Could use a few more things in the kitchen but otherwise the place is just CUTE!!!! The staff are so very nice and the price cannot be beat. It is country cabins so don't expect a Leowes or Kimpton level of decor - it is country glam camping, sit back relax and enjoy. I already booked one of the the little cabins (also so cute!!) for my boyfriend and me for a family reunion next summer. I also want to add, in Iowa beaches are on lakes...there is an Iowa beach at Red Haw State Park right across the highway.

Room Tip: We had the Tiki room (Iowa Style =-) it was quite large, we actually got our choice of rooms we liked this one the best because of the size.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickDeb C, Owner at Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2014

Missy,
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. The couple small items you mentioned have been addressed and corrected. We look forward to your next visit and have many more projects that will be completed by then to make your stay the best yet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a wonderful place for our family reunion this past weekend! Our room (Camp Cheyenne) was huge with plenty of room for all of us. We swam in the State Park Lake, listened to great music at the Soda Pop Salon, played miniature golf, and enjoyed sitting on the porch while we visited with our family. Nic (the owner) even provided us with a campfire-in-a-can and marshmallows for our last night there! Our family group will definitely be going back!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickDeb C, Owner at Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Denise,
Thanks for the nice review. We really enjoyed your entire family and so glad you all had a great time. We are already looking forward to your next visit! It is so important that we provide the best stay possible so that people return not only to our business but to our community. It is a pleasure to work with others in the community like Thelma Saxton(your relative) and her husband and family that also draw hundreds of visitors to our town with their huge catering and events venue at Carpenter's Hall. It is so important after they have invested so much that the people they draw to town have a fantastic place to stay as well. We look forward to providing the best accommodations for those visiting our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I visited this place while passing through last summer. The owner was very friendly and showed my family around all the rooms. I was able to get back down there for a night and I am so glad we chose to stay here! We called a few days ahead, were offered a few options and we chose to book a cabin. I arrived in the afternoon, was promptly checked in and shown to the cabin. We were able to park right outside the cabin. Upon seeing the cabin, we were immediately happy we chose to stay here! It was clean, fresh, private, and cozy. There was a bathroom with a shower, small kitchen space, a seating area, a television, a comfy full-sized bed, and a loft bed above. The cabin had a small fridge, sink, coffee, and towels are provided for use.

After unpacking, we set out on foot and walked the trails around the property, quickly finding our way to one of the lakes. The cabin had a spacious porch with plenty of room to relax on. There were chairs, picnic tables, and fire rings available for use. That evening, we walked the short distance to the Soda Pop Saloon for dinner and dancing. This property is across from Red Haw State Park. On my next visit, I will make sure to spend more time here. The State Park was beautiful and offers plenty of access spots to the lake for fishing and swimming. The rooms that are available offer many options, from special celebrations to large family gatherings, and cabins if you want ultimate privacy. It was a wonderful, relaxing stay. We enjoyed every bit of it and appreciate the exceptional hospitality from the friendly owners. Do not pass the chance up to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HappyHeather75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickDeb C, Owner at Country Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Heather,
Thanks for your stay with us and the nice review! We look forward to your next visit and we are continually adding new things to do and will have RV sites soon as well as tent and tipi rental and sites. We are continuing to add more cabins so we will have an even better selection. The Frontier Trading Post and Soda Pop Saloon are always a hit with our visitors as well as the bait and tackle shop and the new mini-golf course. The best part of running our place is meeting people like you and providing the best stay so that you will return and "spread the word."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews