We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ooh la la!”
Review of Croissant du Jour - CLOSED

Croissant du Jour
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: French, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ooh la la!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This little gem is amazing! Lucky for me, it's a 5 minute drive from my house too! The pastries, the tarts, the mousse--fabulous! And the lobster bisque? Some of the best I've ever had! The place is clean and friendly, and I love the variety of things to eat...so very French cafe! A definite stop if you are in the Cedar Rapids area--the only downside would be the limited lunch hours so be sure to get there early!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agentredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try the ham sandwich”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a fun little restaurant and bakery hidden away on the East side of town. Order at the counter, but tables with tablecloths and cloth napkins. It would be the perfect place to take little girls for a fancy princess lunch. The bakery items are so pretty and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True taste of France”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Charming little bisto-ish spot - fantastic soups. Generous just right portions. Good salads. Never disappoints.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar rapids
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Are you one of those people who just hate throwing your money away? Do you crave a cozy dining experience with great food? Do chain restaurants make you shudder? Well my friends, you are in luck. Croissant du Jour is your ticket to break free of the chain restaurants that have always made up Cedar Rapid's dining scene.

It's ironic that Iowa City, a mere 20 minutes to our south, has such a vibrant dining vibe. Yes, they have some chain restaurants but they are good ones (Chipotle, anyone)? Chipotle would make a KILLING here and maybe knock the uncooked four tortillas that Panchera's serves right out the door. But I digress.

The place is small. It's run by a husband and wife team. The hours are limited for lunch (I believe 11-2) but it is delish and divine.

Walk in and the smell of butter and sugar and yumminess smacks you right in the face. Don't cheat. Order your food at the counter, wait less than 5 minutes, and then grab a now empty table. Table saving is frowned upon, mon cherie and with good reason. Stick with the system. Don't get your undies in a bunch. It works. If you really can't wait, they do offer everything on their menu to go.

Highlights: quiche- fresh made, always a vegetarian version. FULL quiches can be ordered ahead of time for those days when you want to pretend you are French or can cook.

Green bean, goat cheese, walnut salad - kids would eat more green veggies if they started with this tasty salad.

The tomato basil soup is divine as is the butternut squash soup (fall, only). The lobster soup is eh. The french onion, a tad too salty, greasy, and not very beefy. Ask for bread with your soup and they will provide you some nice, fresh, yeasty, baguette. Otherwise, no bread comes with the soup.

The sandwiches are great. I love the tuna nicoise and my friend swears by the turkey club on a fresh croissant. Speaking of croissants, they have a limited number of fresh made breads and pastries. When they are gone, they are gone.

Desserts are heavenly, though I am partial to the fruit tarts, and french cheesecake over the cakes. Order them with your meal so they can set one aside for you as they go fast.

Take a drive over to the SE side of town and support this awesome little fine. You will find ladies who lunch, as well as moms, and everyone else in between - a nice, eclectic mix of people who just love good food served quickly and with a smile. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 191iand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mn
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good but not best when travelling”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Going from St Paul to New Orleans we stopped at Croissant du Jour based on TripAdvisor recommendations. What I hadn’t picked up on was that you order at the counter and then sit down. We didn’t wait too long to get seated once we ordered – but not a perfect process for folks on the road. The grownups in the group that the food was good. I thought the Ham and Swiss quiche was very good – especially with the salad. The kids were less certain. The vegetarian sandwich was selectively eaten. The price was very reasonable – and for me it beat the heck out of burger or other heavier lunch options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnT-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croissant du Jour also viewed

 
Cedar Rapids, IA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing