We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, helpful employees and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The room was clean, I checked first. The employees were very helpful in getting me a recliner and microwave. The Brk was good, much better than just toast. There are 2 super 8 on this street within a couple of blocks of eachother. We chose the second one becuase it was a remodle. Both had friendly and helpful staff though. I will stay here on my next trip to Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Let me start by saying this is a pathetic looking area this time of the year. Much of it still looks like it recently flooded. So if you need a place to stay it must be for business. In any event, I found this hotel to be OK. Cheap and the starchy breakfast was at least fresh. I got stuck in a handicapped room. Ordinarily that's no problem, but with only one bed and flat pillows, I suffered with a stiff neck for my 3 day stay. Also, there was no closet, maybe that's ordinary for this type of hotel. The room was good size and clean. OK for business travelers looking to save a buck.

Cheap eats are close by, but nothing gourmet.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoKappa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

For the price we paid ($50), this was a decent stay. The room is good sized and clean. A little worn around the edges. but for the price it was fine. It has a microwave, but no fridge. The internet worked fine. But when we first logged in it said we needed a Network Key. I went back to the front desk, and he pulled a strip of paper out of a cup with the code. They should have asked when we checked in if we were using the internet.

The breakfast room was small, but had a nice selection of items, including waffles, bisquits and gravy, fruit, toast, bagels, mini muffins and 2 types of cereal. Nore than enough.

One thing we noticed about this motel is that it some live ins. Plus, this is a contract motel for railroad workers and utility workers. It wasn't much of an overnight tourist motel. Very few out of state license plates in the parking lot. Normally, we feel uncomfortable in this type of motel. But, it wound up being a nice place, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasperdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Clean Room, Decent place to stay if you are just looking for a place to sleep.
It served it's purpose. We have stayed in a lot worse places for more money.
This is very acceptable if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drw2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We booked on line, and got off at the indicated exit. Picture on booking site did not match building, so we were confused. Upon going in the lobby (which didn't look that great), the front desk person took one look at our reservation, and said it was the OTHER Super 8, which was about 1/2 mile down the same road. Now the building matched out sheet! Thank goodness too, what a difference. Nice breakfast, clean, comfy, good value for the money. When you book it, make sure you have the one at 720 33rd Ave., not the other one!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Didn't realize there was an "east" and "west" Super 8 - and they are just a stone's throw away from each other. We stayed at the other one just down the street and it was a dive. Smelled musty, old, staff was only friendly to my husband. The middle-eastern man who checked us in would not even look at me, like I was invisible, but that is a part of his culture. So, make sure you stay at the newer Super 8 which is the 720 33rd ave SW location, NOT the old one down the street. Also, the old one is mainly for truckers. We had a semi hauling about 8 cars idling outside our window all night.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lorileight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I loved every detail of this place. Stayed here on business. Spent 6 weeks from December to Janurary, 2010. The rooms are large, the continental breakfast was delicious (even had biscuits and gravy), all the staff were friendly and helpful (especially Nita, the manager), cleanliness was amazing, bathrooms were spotless, parking lot well maitained (including snow removal), the bed was so comfortable. I even had a recliner and still plenty of room.

The only downside, no fitness center and internet a bit shady at times.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laramiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
6.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#26 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
50 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#27 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#25 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
66 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Collins Road
Quality Inn at Collins Road
#24 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids

Address: 720 33rd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-3923 (Formerly Super 8 Cedar Rapids)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cedar Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: $55 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within easy reach of The Eastern Iowa Airport, Paramount Theatre and Hawkeye Downs Speedway and Expo Center. For hometown hospitality in the City of Five Seasons, stay at our Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids hotel. With a great location off I-380 near the Lincoln Freeway, and within an easy drive of downtown and area business like Convention Center, Rockwell Collins, Quaker Oats, Verizon, Transamerica / AEGON, our hotel offers easy access to shops, restaurants, and all the places you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Cedar Rapids
Super Eight Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Super 8
Cedar Rapids Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing