We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW A RED ROOF INN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Reviewed September 26, 2009

It took a while to figure out this was the right hotel - it's now a Red Roof Inn. Luckily we recognized the building from the photo.

I liked this hotel. It was clean, cheap ( $72.79 all in) and was a nice room. Small bathroom, the sink area is in the main room. There's a mini fridge and microwave, good TV channel selection, comfy bed - a little hard - but good. Nice furniture, etc. Great shower head/pressure. Service was fine, efficient. They have a free breakfast but we went out instead.

The only thing I didn't care for was the location. It's not a hotel fault, just a preference that I'll mention in case others want the information. The area this hotel is in is by the railroad tracks so we could hear multiple whistles the room. At least five between 9-11. Luckily I had ear plugs with me.

The area was a little "wrong side of the tracks". It seemed safe enough but when we drove past the area closer to Marion (more north east) I wished we had stayed in that area. Better restaurants, less highway noise, overall nicer area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KodoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2009

The location was good for us since we had been on the road all day with two little kids. We walked to Wendy's for dinner and there was even a little blue grass concert going on when we arrived (around 6pm) at it was over long before we went to bed. I was pretty suprised because there were a lot of staff on duty (6 people) for being a small motel. It is a Red Roof Inn now so that would be helpful while booking a room or looking for it in person. The room was fine but the bathroom could use some work since the ceiling was looking a little flaky.The continental breakfast was good and the highway was close by so we just went on our way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Fairfield which is now the Red Roof Inn. The hotel's first and second floors open out to a balcony outside, but the third floor has interior hallways. We stayed in a king on the third floor. The room was nice for the price we received. The window wasn't sealed, so when the wind blew, it sounded like a jet engine. After cracking the window a bit, the sound went away, but the noise from the highway was quite loud. The hotel sits right next to the highway. The bed in the room was a bit hard, but the sheets were nice and they included several kinds of pillows. The breakfast which was included in the price was quite nice in the morning and the desk clerk was friendly and helpful. There is an exercise room and pool. The pool wasn't opened, but the exercise room included a stair stepper, bicycle, and treadmill and was pleasant. We would stay again for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnwomanSt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here after we missed our flight to Mesa, AZ. The night desk clerk was kind and gracious giving us a great rate AND scheduled a cab to get us to airport in the morning. The rooms were very clean and the hotel had a great welcoming feel to it. Working in the lodging industry I was very impressed even though they are now a Red Roof. Whatever the name on the outside this hotel is exceptional and top notch. You will find very comfortable beds, outstanding guest service, and people who truly care about their guests. Don't miss the Happy Chef down the street - also very good. If you are a traveler and hate the run of the mill hotel than this is the place to stay in Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PastorKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I noticed this hotel only received 2 stars, so I was kinda nervous booking through priceline. But I sure was surprised when walking into the Fairfield Inn. The lobby is big, the breakfast area has a nice assortment for everyone, and the people at the front desk are very nice. When we got into the room, I couldn't believe how updated and clean it was. We even received a phone call from the front desk asking if the room was up to our standards. I would return to Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank giggly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Having written a somewhat negative review of the Cedar Rapids Fairfield Inn previously, it is only fair to update my review based on my most recent visit. I reserved two rooms through an online bidding site at the Fairfield for a short visit to Cedar Rapids. This time check-in went smoothly (they did not give our rooms away like my previous visit) and we were given rooms on the third floor. As others have commented, this motel has outside entrances for the first two floors which can be annoying when you run down to breakfast and have to walk through the winter snow. The third floor is enclosed and has a center hallway allowing you to access the elevators and lobby without going outside. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Nice toiletries for a small hotel, iron/ironing board in each room, comfortable bed with duvet.
The breakfast is great and includes make-your-own waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, donuts, bagels, juices, coffee etc…. Nice spread and adequate seating in their breakfast area. Free USA today at the reception desk and free internet access via a PC in the lobby.
There is some traffic noise from the freeway and the heating/AC does cycle on and off so if you need absolute quiet, select a hotel further away from the freeway. Overall our stay at the Fairfield was a much better experience and for the price, well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Maybe this is one of the nicer hotels in Cedar Rapids, but this Fairfield shouldn't have the Marriott name attached to it. I am not 100% satisfied with Fairfield's anyway, prefer Hampton's now that they have upgraded almost everything. The service was great at the Fairfield, but the hotel appeared to be an old La Quinta or Best Western hotel with the Fairfield touches. The room was tiny, the bathroom had barely enough room to turn around, and we actually put the chair in front of the door because we were on the lower level with outside entrances and worried about our safety. This Fairfield is not on par with the others in the chain.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank scsparks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#29 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
69 reviews
6.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
#10 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
452 reviews
6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
Mainstay Suites Cedar Rapids
#22 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn South
Quality Inn South
#26 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#25 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids

Address: 3243 S Ridge Dr SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5426 (Formerly Fairfield Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: $56 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Cedar Rapids
Fairfield Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing