We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overbite stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked this hotel direct. It is out in the middle of nowhere. (it's Iowa, right?). The room was clean and quiet. The only restaurants nearby are an A&W (stay away), a Macdonald's, and Iowa's ever present Casey's c-stores. Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. The duvet on the bed was heavy and way too warm for early fall. There is nothing lighter than the duvet, except the bed sheet, which is way too light. Hard to get a good night' sleep when you are alternately too warm and then too cold.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

1 night on hotwire for $45 . very close to airport and interstate . Small Indoor pool and hot tub . excellant Breakfast with a variety of hot items .This was likley not built as a CS as it is not their normal style . More of a high level Super 8 construction . Better than average lobby area

Room size was average . Staff pleasent

No problems

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Without a doubt on the list of my worst stays ever. Horrible smell in the rooms, lumpy bed which was actually DAMP! It was not a great stay, especially after just spending three days in Dubuque's hotel Julian. Maybe the bar was set too high.
It's 3:38am and I'm patiently waiting to get outta here and on my flight do I can get some sleep.
Oh did I mention the sound of your neighbors next door and above sounding like they are stomping through your room? Ugh

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gknarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Gknarr,
I apologize for your less than satisfacotry stay stay with us. I appreciate your comments and concerns regarding the noise and dampness. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss your situation. I would be happy to see if we can sork something out to resolve your less than satisfacotry stay with us. Unfortunately with the long hot summer the air conditioner units have been running constantly. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Debra Kendall
319-363-3789

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel through priceline. Our room was on the second floor. There were no cleanliness issues or bugs, but there was such an overwhelming mildew smell that we bought a cheap air freshner and left it out during our stay. Pool and hot tub were nice, breakfast was fine. Front desk staff were polite but we often had to wait around for someone to show up to help us. Overall just okay. Would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra K, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Kayte W.
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor regarding the Country Inn and Suites in Cedar Rapids IA. I wanted to let you know we have some upcoming projects for the hotel that we are excited about. We will be installing new carpet, drapes and flat screen TV's within the next 60 days. I hope when your travels bring you to the Cedar Rapids area you will give us another try!
Sincerely,
Debra Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed two nights. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The only problem was that I had hoped for a fridge and microwave. Breakfast included waffles, eggs, pastries, etc. Hot tub was nice. There was a comfortable seating area in the lobby that included a book shelf with books that could be borrowed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImSewBlessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here one night with my adult daughter, after being hung up on when trying to make a reservation! I called back and the same guy finally got me booked. Anyway, we got upgraded to a king suite, which was nice, but the room itself was not clean...crumbs and lint, etc., around every baseboard, and I counted 5 hairs on the floor of the bathroom. The shower had something on the walls, like dirty water drops, I'm not sure. The furniture is worn (cigarette burn on the duvet cover) but serviceable, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Business center computer not working. Housekeeping person on our floor was eating something as she walked down the hall..(is this where the crumbs come from??) and the attendant at the breakfast buffet had a filthy uniform (yuck!). Even with all these negatives, we did get a good night's sleep, and it was fairly quiet in the hotel for a weekend. We will stay somewhere else the next time we're in Cedar Rapids.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannolisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed here while in town on business, close to airport. AM staff was very friendly and helpful. No restaurants around but Mgr. said shuttle would drive me anywhere I wanted to go. A big plus. Shuttle service is from 5am-8pm. Rooms are nice but could use some behind and under cleaning. Rooms are big, beds are comfortable just a little outdated. TV's need updating too. Breakfast is good, social hour is only a couple nights a week with beer and snacks. Nice stay and AM staff was great.,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222Traveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 37 in Cedar Rapids
248 reviews
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
9.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport

Address: 9100 Atlantic Dr. SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-9072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range: $80 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport Hotel Cedar Rapids
Country Inn And Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Country Inn Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing