We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in North Cedar Rapids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff in North Cedar Rapids”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the Cedar Rapids Residence Inn this weekend to watch our daughter graduate from the University of Iowa. The hotel is about 35 minutes from the university, but on graduation weekend is was our only hope in getting two suites. The hotel was well kept and the staff was very pleasant. The free breakfast was good (and available earlier than advertised!) and the internet was reasonably fast. So even though the trips in to Iowa City were longer than we have have liked, the visit was a success for all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
12
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
466 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have stayed here often while in Cedar Rapids on business over the past several years. It is in a convenient location on the north end of town. The property was renovated recently and the rooms are well designed. The staff is among the most welcoming and helpful of any Marriott property you will find, truly fulfilling the company's spirit to serve. I have only ever had two complaints. First, if you stay on one of the upper floors, there are blindingly bright lights outside the windows to light up the property. If you prefer to sleep in total darkness as I do, you may find yourself stuffing towels over the curtains to keep the glare out. Seriously, one could read a novel with the room light out and the drapes open here. Second, avoid the first floor west wing if you value peace and quite. This is where they permit pets. Each time I've been on that floor, I have been woken at zero dark hundred by howling, barking packs of dogs and their none too friendly and overly entitled owners. For these two reasons, I now stay a bit farther down the road at the Fairfield.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor for the blinding klieg lights. Avoid the first floor west wing for the howling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasVoyager_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Cedar Rapids Resience Inn we greatly appreciate your business. We are glad that you have found our staff very helpful. We take a lot of pride is the service we provide to our guests. I do apologize for the light coming in the windows this is something our maintenance staff is looking into to see if we can find a better solution. As for the pet situation, we are looking for a better answer to that as well. We strive to provide the best service to all Marriott guest. We value your feedback and again; thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my first time staying at a Residence Inn and my daughter and I were really impressed. The staff were very attentive and very nice. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a king/1 bedroom suite and we enjoyed having the extra space. The Managers dinner was excellent and so was the breakfast. Clean, good location and quiet! We would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDW1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainwell, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn - Cedar Rapids on business for two weeks. It was fantastic. The rooms are open and clean. The kitchenette features a FULL SIZE REFRIGERATOR, cupboards with dishes, pots, pans, etc. with a microwave, stove top and kitchen sink. They even stock it with paper towels, cloth towels and some minor snacks. Marble-looking/feeling countertops made me feel special, too.
TWO televisions (one in the bedroom, one in the living room) and a LARGE desk space for my laptop and to spread out. There was a small closet to hang my coat WITH A DOOR (it was nice to have it disappear instead of the open rack hanging in most hotels). There were a lot of little things that I appreciated. Full size closet with sliding mirrored doors. A little table area when you walk right inside the door to drop your keys and bag. Four fluffy pillows (one inevitably found its way to the long L-shaped couch in the living room).
The staff were friendly, especially in the morning as weary travelers were gathering their breakfast and coffee. REAL scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, potatoes with onions and green peppers - breakfast was delicious. You can make waffles for yourself, too (I indulged one morning - fresh strawberries and blueberries besides just syrup available).
I used the guest laundry facility - clean and easy - laundry soap was 50c and a package of two dryer sheets was another 50c. I wasn't worried about theft or damage - everyone seemed well-behaved, and since we were seeing each other at breakfast - people were generally friendly.
I know they served dinner at the hotel, but frankly, I was attending business dinners so I did not partake, so I have no comment. Frankly, there are a lot of great restaurants nearby, so I went there.
I've been staying at a lot of other hotels in other cities that are not even CLOSE to how nice this hotel was... they really did a great job making me feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessInArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently stayed at the Residence Inn when I was in town to visit family. Booked two rooms. My biggest complaint about this place was my room location. I was in room 101, and right outside our room, and on the sofa was a terrible strong perfume smell. Well, when I opened up the pull out bed, a lighter flew out at me. So i'm guessing a previous guest was smoking in there, and hosed it down with perfume to cover up the smell. Also, we were closest to the exit, therefore, we could hear people at most hours of the night outside our room smoking, and therefore could hear them entering/leaving several times.

and on for the good. The room size was great. King size bed was very comfy and the full kitchen is nice. The breakfast was TERRIFIC both days, very fresh and warm. The hottub and pool area was very clean and warm. The location was perfect for us. And I would absolutely stay in this hotel again, just request a different room.

Room Tip: Request room on 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at Residence Inn in Cedar Rapids while I was in town for business, and I was pleasantly surprised at the choice of lodging. The rooms were wonderful - there was a full-size fridge, a big living room and separate bedroom area. There were 2 televisions and even a really nice sofa. The bathroom was just a normal hotel bathroom, but everything was clean. I would definitely stay here again. As a side note, because I didn't pay for the room, I don't know how the rates were.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at many different places in Cedar Rapids and I think I've found the one I will continue to stay at during my frequent visits to this city. Some real strong good points with the Residence Inn. The room was great - very clean with a nicely appointed kitchen that included full fridge, counter top stove, micro and dishwasher. The bed was extremely comfortable and sitting and desk area spacious and comfortable. The complementary breakfast was above average -nice selection and fresh. The staff was terrific - very friendly and engaging. They even provide a service where you can give them a grocery list and they will stock your suite, adding the grocery charges to your room bill. That is a very nice amenity.

Only two complaints. On the first floor of the hotel there is a faint, but distinct, pet urine odor. I did not pick this up on the second floor (there are three total) where I was located. With a pet friendly policy I'm not sure what they can do about this, so if you don't have pets I would recommend a higher floor.

The second complaint was that while sleep during the night was very quite and restful, unless you are on the same schedule as the person in the room above you, you are likely to be awaken when they get up in the morning. I was in the last room on the 2nd floor and every day of my 4 day stay I was roused from sleep by the person above me at 5 a.m. when they got up. First you hear them walking so that it sounds like they are in the room with you, the running water and pinging pipes are like an annoying alarm. Don't know if it was just the room I was in or not, but it was a pain in the neck.

Overall, great value, nice staff, clean facilities. I will be back, however I will be requesting a room on the top floor to ensure a more restfull morning.

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearwaterJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenceinncr, Manager at Residence Inn Cedar Rapids, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I am pleased to find you enjoyed our staff, breakfast, and recent room renovations. However, I apologize we did not provide you with the full experience you expected while staying at our hotel. I would be more than happy to reserve a room for you on the top floor next time you stay with us; guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance and we are always looking for ways to improve. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cedar Rapids North
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#18 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Rapids Marriott
Cedar Rapids Marriott
#11 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids North
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
#7 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Cedar Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Cedar Rapids

Property: Residence Inn Cedar Rapids
Address: 1900 Dodge Rd NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402-2463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Cedar Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Cedar Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Rapids Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing