We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Greenwich, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quick Overnight Stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

American Airlines paid for this stay so I was a bit worried that it wouldn't be a good one. I was pleasantly surprised by the staff and room accommodations. They were more than adequate and everything was clean. The free continental breakfast was a surprise too. There were hot scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, cereals, muffins, bagels, juices, milk and coffee.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbeth597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    32
    26
    27
See reviews for
51
42
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I was a little nervous after reading the reviews on this hotel, but I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and the carpet looked brand new. We must have had an updated room. The staff was very helpful and gave the kids cookies when we arrived. Very happy with this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, super friendly staff. Older hotel but seems well maintained. Bar relaxing, pizza very good. Comfortable room with powerful a/c unit. Really good breakfast in nice dining room. Wifi worked great. Wonderful deal for the price :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is not as nice as it used to be...however, breakfast was hot and fresh and staff was friendly. Our room was clean and there were cookies waiting in the lobby when we got there. The staff was friendly. We left something in our hotel room and one of the housekeepers ran out into the parking lot to catch us before we left and return our item. Close to the interstate. I recommend booking on a budget/deal site.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and there was a block for rooms reserved here. We basically only slept here and found it to be adequate. We did not eat here or use any amenities. I felt I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugularatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I wish I would have believed the horrible reviews of this place. Right when you walk in the smell of cigarettes and filth hit you. Does not give a good first impression. It claims to be "updated". Buying new lamps and artwork is not updated. The rooms was not like the pics on the website. The restraint advertises they serve dinner but we were informed they stop serving food at 6pm!!! Probably should update their website. The pool was closed due to a glass being dropped in the pool the day before. The kitchen flooded so no hot breakfast. Those two things aren't their fault. I will say the beds were comfortable. Overall I did not like this hotel. It's outdated and smells bad.

Room Tip: Avoid this place. There are better places nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our facility on TripAdvisor. The Clarion Hotel appreciates feedback in all forms to ensure we are offering our guests superior customer service and accommodations. I would like to apologize for the cigarette odor you encountered upon arrival, the hotel went 100% non smoking one year ago, however we are finding that many of our guest smoke under the cover of our awning and are working on a solution to this. I will also personally look through our website to ensure that all the information being advertised in current and accurate information. Thank you for your feedback your satisfaction is important to us and will use your comments to improve. We hope you will consider staying with the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids again during future visits.

Thank you.

Chip Fritsch
General Manager
Clarion Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

This is the worst stay at a hotel that I've ever had. Rooms and halls smell like old cigarettes, DO NOT EAT HERE, food is beyond terrible. We rented an event room for a birthday party and the food is nearly inedible. We asked the manager to do something about the awful food and the best they could do was say sorry. Unacceptable customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monteclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotel1, General Manager at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Clarke,
I am very sorry about the recent troubles you had while staying at the Clarion Hotel in Cedar Rapids. It is the goal of this hotel to ensure we provide an enjoyable and superior experience for all of our guests. During your stay, the hotel made every effort to accommodate your needs, including taking care of your room bill. Upon informing the hotel of the odor in your room, the front desk and housekeeping arranged to have you moved to new rooms, to your satisfaction. When you approached the front desk at approximately nine PM, three hours after the end of your dinner, you informed us of your dissatisfaction with the pulled pork sandwich, which we sincerely apologized for. We asked if you had notified your server during the meal, so we could prepare another meal option more to your liking, you stated you had not. We offered to prepare a new meal for you on the house at the time of complaint, which you declined. You asked the hotel to take care of your room bill due to your displeasure with the sandwich, to which we happily obliged. Again, I sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. After we have made every effort to correct the issues for you, and you have accepted compensation for the two guest rooms, I am sorry you are still displeased.
The hotel made a point to connect with as many patrons of the party as possible upon check out and have followed up with the event planner. We feared the worst, but we received nothing but positive feedback and praise regarding the afternoon reception and dinner service.

Best Regards,

Chip Fritsch
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
422 reviews
6.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Days Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
#8 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
2.8 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 525 33rd Ave SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center. Our hospitable Cedar Rapids hotel which is only 17 miles north of Coralville/Iowa City Exit, delivers spacious guestrooms and suites, attentive service, and many premium amenities to business travelers, family vacationers, and couples in search of a romantic getaway. A top-notch location puts shopping, dining, and entertainment options just a short drive away. Plus, we’re the closest full-service hotel to Eastern Iowa Airport (6 miles). One of the best features we offer our guests is the area's only full service hotel's Complimentary Hot Deluxe Breakfast which is prepared fresh daily by our Chef. Individuals or groups won't be forced to eat in a lobby, but rather they can relax in our restaurant which seats over 96 people, has flat screen TV and access to wireless. We are unique in that our facility offers a wide variety of recreational activities. Newly remodeled full service Synergy Restaurant & the 33rd Ave. Sports Bar & Grill are on site and open 7 days per week. We offer one of the area's largest swimming pool areas, with hot tub, and sauna. Our newly renovated Exercise room features all the newest equipment. Our 24 hour Business Center is enclosed for privacy and offers one of the area's only Blackberry Printing Stations for our guests. Our King Business & Queen Business rooms feature microwave/refrigerator, flat screen TV with premium channels including HBO,CNN, ESPN, Big Ten, & Fox News. There is also an in-room safe, lounge chair, and complimentary hi-speed internet (both wireless & wired) in the room. FEMA approved. Federal Government Rates Available. Group Rates available. Large Banquet/Convention space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cedar Rapids
Clarion Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing