We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingy, Dirty, and Outdated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dingy, Dirty, and Outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel has a nice lobby and friendly front desk staff. That was it. The hallways and elevator were very smoke-filled at all times. (We were there for a long while.) The room we had was dark, dresser drawers did not close, dirty remote, exposed pipe in the bathroom, spotted fixtures. There were only 2 outlets not being used for us to charge our electronics. The free breakfast was not good at all - some sort of egg product, brown fruit. It is held in a windowless room that is a throwback to the 80s. (In fact, other than the lobby - the entire hotel probably hasn't been updated in 20+ years.) The hot tub was an old plastic style and very small. After noticing a film on hair, we got out and never used again. Internet went out often. Train is right outside window and goes often through the night, as do the cars on the busy road. Location is good, but there are a lot of other hotels in the same exact area that would have been far better. We will never stay there again. Ever. We did everything we could do to escape the hotel instead of going back there to relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carebear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    43
    30
    26
    26
See reviews for
49
36
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Level Contributor
303 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The best part of the stay was the staff - especially the wait and bar staff in 33rd St Bar and Grill. They were attentive and very pleasant. The rooms however are really in need of work. I agree with another reviewer on the overall smell of the place - the entire place (rooms side not the bar/restuarant side) had an unpleasant odor of mold/musk/stale smoke. The drapes, rug and desk chair in my room were old and stained. In fact I wouldn't even sit in the desk chair due to its dirty appearance and kept socks on at all times. The room itself was clean so there is no fault with the housekeeping staff. But I just could not overlook the shabby furnishings (although linens on bed were average). Bathroom was tiny and worn.
In the future I would visit the dining facility again, but would probably stay at one of the other places in the immediate area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearwaterJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Clarion and it was great! The hotel staff is very friendly and is ready to serve you the best they can. Our shuttle driver wasn't great... We had a shuttle take me and my bridesmaids to the church and he had no idea where he was going (luckily I knew where we were going). The wedding coordinator, Samantha, is absolutely wonderful and helps out with everything. She answered all of my questions and was very patient with me and my crazy family. She's very easygoing and made the wedding process less stressful.

The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel is the location and how dated the rooms are. It's located near an ADM plant were they process corn and that whole weekend the wind was blowing towards the hotel and it smelled awful and a lot of our guests came up to me and told me the hotel stunk. The rooms are outdated as well and need some remodeling. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and my husband and I had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 111911newlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I'm usually not very picky, but a hotel has to have the basics especially when you are on an important business trip. I was situated on the 5th floor, and there is no internet signal there at all. It was very poor. Second, it's near the train tracks, so you hear the train in the afternoon and late at night.

Other than that, the bed, bathroom is comfortable. They had good breakfast (waffle maker), and very helpful/friendly staff. If they can fix the internet problem, I would probably give this place a 3-4.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojourner_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pjohnson8671, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for letting us know of the internet issue you experienced. Your review helped us to identify an intermittent signal issue which was unknown to us. We have since contacted our internet provider and the problem has been resolved. We thank you for your feedback and hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hotel staff are friendly enough, decor is dated, rooms are OK but in need of modernising. Bathroom was like something from the 1970's!
Proximity to railway line meant the hotel was noisy all the time, trains blowing their horn all hours of day and night.
We paid a corporate rate, which was cheap not surprising for the hotel standard. Previously stayed in Homewood suites north of Cedar Rapids for $10 per night more and it was 100 times better.

Room Tip: Go for a high room, executive floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubworldfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stay here back in August again. This hotel is very nice and the rooms are excellent. The bar was nice, as well as the indoor pool and hot tub. The front desk was outstanding in their service. The food was great, although it was a bit over priced for the all you can eat breakfast at 14.95 I believe. The 2nd morning we just went out to eat. The hotel is a great bet and well worth the 100.00 each night, for the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshuaIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Very upset... Check in the agent was very rude , We asked for an late check out because my husband was working third shift, an hour is all he needed the manager told us it would be a $20 charge for Noon check out. Room very outdated , nothing like pictures. The only good thing was the bar . Bar staff was nice, and we loved the Monday night all you can eat tacos. My Husband is an extended stay in the area for work along with 30 + guys We will not be staying at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefswife2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
2.8 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#2 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cedar Rapids Convention Complex
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#6 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 525 33rd Avenue, SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center. Our hospitable Cedar Rapids hotel which is only 17 miles north of Coralville/Iowa City Exit, delivers spacious guestrooms and suites, attentive service, and many premium amenities to business travelers, family vacationers, and couples in search of a romantic getaway. A top-notch location puts shopping, dining, and entertainment options just a short drive away. Plus, we’re the closest full-service hotel to Eastern Iowa Airport (6 miles). One of the best features we offer our guests is the area's only full service hotel's Complimentary Hot Deluxe Breakfast which is prepared fresh daily by our Chef. Individuals or groups won't be forced to eat in a lobby, but rather they can relax in our restaurant which seats over 96 people, has flat screen TV and access to wireless. We are unique in that our facility offers a wide variety of recreational activities. Newly remodeled full service Synergy Restaurant & the 33rd Ave. Sports Bar & Grill are on site and open 7 days per week. We offer one of the area's largest swimming pool areas, with hot tub, and sauna. Our newly renovated Exercise room features all the newest equipment. Our 24 hour Business Center is enclosed for privacy and offers one of the area's only Blackberry Printing Stations for our guests. Our King Business & Queen Business rooms feature microwave/refrigerator, flat screen TV with premium channels including HBO,CNN, ESPN, Big Ten, & Fox News. There is also an in-room safe, lounge chair, and complimentary hi-speed internet (both wireless & wired) in the room. FEMA approved. Federal Government Rates Available. Group Rates available. Large Banquet/Convention space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Cedar Rapids
Clarion Hotel Cedar Rapids
Cedar Rapids Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing