We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish more places were like this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aladdin Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aladdin Restaurant
Ranked #290 of 399 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Price range: $0 - $15
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I wish more places were like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is sorta like the ethnic neighborhood corner grocery/diner you'd find in a big city, only this one is in a strip mall and in Cedar Rapids. Staff is friendly and the food is really good and the prices are reasonable. Don't expect much for atmosphere. I come here when I need my Gyros fix and some Babaghanoush (sp?) which is great.

I wish there were more places like this in CR. The small Mom and Pop places with real food and no B.S gimmicks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nora Springs, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“mmmmmm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Very good food. The chicken samosas were delicious as was the shawarma. An added bonus is the small specialty grocery carrying Middle Eastern, Mediterranean and South Asian food stuffs. Good selection of herbs and spices, tahini, ghee, rices and numerous other items. All very affordable, some items very difficult to find elsewhere.
Another bonus? The staff are personable and have great senses of humor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Middle Eastern food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Aladdin is a neat little restaurant set in a strip mall, but step inside and you are in the Middle East. The appetizers are fantastic--probably the best hummus in town, good baba ghanoush, stuffed grape leaves and kibbeh. I usually get the lentil fattoush salad, which I have never found anywhere else, but my friends also liked the gypros and kebabs. Their rice is awesome--each grain is separate. They have table service, or you can order carry-out at the counter. Some of the food can be spicy, but the servers have good suggestions for people who like less spicy or adventurous choices.

They also have a little store selling Middle Eastern foods, but we didn't really like the cookies we picked out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katya008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The food was flavorless, salad was gross. Messed up the order. We will never order here again. We love cultural food but not this!!

Helpful?
2 Thank ajbesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hummus... MmmmMmmm...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

been to this place a few times over the past few years and every trip has been lovely. so far there has been no dishes that i hate over there! favorite dish? HUMMUS! i can't find any other better ones in the area. there is another restaurant up north in Cedar Rapids that offer somewhat the same cuisine but it aint as good. falafel? love it. babaganoush? love it. kabobs? love it. and i thought the food was pretty affordable as well. will definitely continue to patronize that place for years to come (if i am still in Cedar Rapids that is). haven't had any tummyaches like the reviews below, hopefully it is an isolated event or they just arn't accustom to the cuisine?

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjlee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aladdin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing