We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...very impressive...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow...very impressive...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wow!!! Very impressive... They are making some changes and good one that's for sure. Staff were really helpful and the room was fairly larger then most AmericInn. Check out the breakfast in the morning was delightful. Overall great night.

Room Tip: Very close to the airport...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlickne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are remodeling the entire property to make this a better AmericInn for all of our guests. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have your return in the future and you will be able to see all the additional changes we have made. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    34
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
68
24
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, SD
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel. Appears to be have been recently remodeled. Our room still smelled of fresh paint. Looks as if new carpet throughout the property. It looked great inside and out. We stayed 2 nights for a Hawkeye football weekend. Great location! Close to the Amana Colonies and Cedar Rapids. An easy 20 minutes to Iowa City.

The room had a flat screen tv, coffee and iron/ironing board. Sink was outside the bathroom which keeps the bath available while the misses gets ready in the morning. The pillows, like most hotels now, were small and I'm glad we brought our own. The bed cover wasn't my favorite but acceptable.

We missed housekeeping while napping after the game and I asked if they could touch up our room when we left for dinner which they did. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to interstate and airport. Breakfast featured the usual with hot items. Breakfast area was clean and well attended to. Indoor pool and hot tub-didn't use but looked nice. Nice parking lot with ample lighting that felt safe.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel. Great value!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments they are great to hear. You are correct, we are remodeling the hotel. We are getting even more new items in the comming month. I hope you will come back and stay with us again when you are in the Cedar Rapids area and see all the changes to the hotel. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We love AmericInn's but this one was a huge disappointment. Tons of construction going on and the parking lot was hard to get in/out of. Grounds were messy and front desk staff less than friendly. Breakfast was blah. Bugs in the ceiling fixture in the bathroom and around the whirlpool tub. Bed was hard. This is not what we are used to when we stay at an AmericInn, don't bother staying here. Plus, there are no restaurants within a short distance to eat at.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. We are working on the AmericInn Refresh project so yes there is construction going on. We have re-sided the entire hotel and asphalted the entire parking lot. We are now getting ready to work on landscaping. We have repainted the common areas and are also painting the guests rooms. We have added new lamps and we have just placed an order for new mattress and new linen. There will be more great things to come. We are working hard to make this a better AmericInn for our guests. Our breakfast items is what our corporate office requires us to have and we have quite a variety of items to choose from. I will speak with the housekeeping department about the bugs, but we do have a pest control company that comes every other week. You are correct that we do not have alot by the hotel but about 3-4 miles from us is several restaurant choices. I hope that in the future you will return and see all the great changes we have made for our guests. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night after having had an excellent stay here a couple of years ago. Things have gone downhill since then. All their advertising, including in-room, promised free wifi. The first thing we did was try to connect. No luck. Contacted the front desk, no luck. Contacted their tech support company and after 15 minutes was told the only wifi available was in the lobby area. We tried to connect wired and had no luck. After 20 frustrating minutes, we requested a room change and were accommodated. In the new room, we were able to get wifi, although I don't think it was the hotel's wifi. In today's age, reliable wifi is almost a necessity. Wifi aside, the rest of our stay was your typical budget hotel - good but not exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I would like to apologize that you had trouble using our free wi-fi. Within the last week we just had fiber optics installed at the hotel so that we would be able to offer fast internet service to our guests. I am not sure why the 800 tech line told you that the wi-fi was only in the lobby as we do offer it in the guest rooms. I am going to get in touch with my IT department and have them check the access points that we have installed in the hallways so we can make sure they are all working correctly. Once again I do apologize that you had so much trouble. Getting onto the internet should not be a difficult process. I want to assure you that I will have this looked into. I look forward to having you return in the future so that we may be able to provide you with another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Sincerely Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been staying a Americinn for the last 10 years and this is the worst time I have had. We reserved a Whirlpool room and the whirlpool does not work. The air conditioner did not work, although it did get fixed. We had to turn off all the light switches and then turn them back on. Then the air came on. They refused to refund the difference between the whirlpool rate and regular room rate. Both the manager and clerk were very unprofessional and all but called me a liar. Hell will freeze over before I stay a this hotel again.

Room Tip: Only rent from hotels directly and not a 3rd party company. If they refuse to give you a refund, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I apologize that you had some issues during your stay. I am glad that we were able to get the A/C working for you. When I talked with you about the whirlpool there are several factors in making sure that it will work. First there must be enough water-there are sensors in the whirlpool that know if there is enough water in the tub, the emergency switch on the wall can not be turned off and then there is a button to push to make it turns on and finally the timer. When a whirlpool room is cleaned we fill it up with water and make sure that it works, this way if it does not we can repair it before a guest checks into the room. The day you checked in that room was cleaned and the whirlpool was checked and it worked. After your departure it was checked again and it worked. We did offer to come to your room to assist you in getting it working and this offer was declined. I do apologize if you had trouble getting it to work. I have contacted the 3rd party that you booked you room through and I have issued you a refund. They told me that it would take 7-10 business day for you to receive this. Once again I apologize for the troubles you had and I would love for you to return to give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel and I will discuss with you what I would like to offer you. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here just overnight to go to a birthday party. Didn't need to spend too much time in the hotel. Just to sleep. Unfortunately, that was the worst part. The room was nice. Very clean. Check-in & out was easy & fast.They are revamping the outside with new siding. Need to spend a little money on new mattresses. There were 3 of us in our party & none of us got much sleep on these beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I wanted to let you know that we are aware that our mattresses need to be replaced. We started the remodeling with painting the public areas and are now painting the guest rooms. We are installing brand new lamps. In about a month to a month and a half will be be getting new mattresses and brand new linen for all our rooms. We just went 100% smoke free and we are working on installing new siding and having our parking lot repaired. We are working hard to provide our guests with a better AmericInn. It is great to hear that are rooms are nice and clean and that you enjoyed the quick check in and check service. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us in the future and enjoy how we have refreshed our hotel for our guests. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I called the hotel to see if they had availability. The gentleman answered the phone was below average for customer service. Stated the rate for the park and fly package and never really asked me if I wanted a room or not. However, I thought I would book my stay for the park and fly package. When I went in to check in the gentleman was not at the desk so clicked on the button to get his attention at the front desk. During the check in process, since he did not offer anything about the property, or inform us of what the hotel offered I asked about breakfast. He stated they had a hot breakfast, however, if I am leaving early there would be cereal available for us. Wow for the price you pay, you only get cereal in the morning when in fact they could have put the waffle batter in the machine and heated up the waffle griddle in no time???? I understand about the other hot items, however, the waffle machine does not take much to start up. That morning when we went to the breakfast and we had to ask for milk for our cereal. The girl at the desk was like rolling her eyes as if we were bothering her. She did not smile or greet us. I asked about the hard boiled eggs and she said I guess I can unlock the refrigerator. Once she unlocked for us to get the eggs, she went back and locked it up again. Really, how crazy is that. There definitely needs to be improvement in customer service at this hotel. I have stayed here a few years ago and the service has gone down tremendously. The rooms are somewhat outdated as well. They need to be refreshed with paint touch up and new linens. The beds are terrible and need to be upgraded. I would think twice before staying here again. The price is high if you are not getting the opportunity to have a decent breakfast along with the poor customer service being offered at the hotel.

Room Tip: They do have an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
First I want to start with an apologize. I do not train my staff to treat guests in that manner. The gentleman that you spoke to should have asked you if you wished to set up a reservation. Also during the check in process the clerks are to be telling you about the property. The hours the pool is available, breakfast hours, that we have wi-fi available, where the elevator is, ice machine etc. Also there is not a problem at all with having some of the breakfast available before 6am as we understand some guests will leave prior to that time. We can have most of it available with the execepttion of the waffles, eggs, bacon and sausage. Normally we can have it out about 5am when a guests asks. Without those items this still leaves many options. The clerk working when you came down should have been friendly and had a can-attitude to assist you. I am truly unhappy that you did not have a great experience here and I can assure you that I will be speaking to my entire front desk staff in regards to this. Customer service is the most important thing you can offer a guest. I hope that you will return to us in the future to provide you another chance to show you are great customer service. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
229 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#17 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
416 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Address: 8910 6th St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-7053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing