We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I called the hotel to see if they had availability. The gentleman answered the phone was below average for customer service. Stated the rate for the park and fly package and never really asked me if I wanted a room or not. However, I thought I would book my stay for the park and fly package. When I went in to check in the gentleman was not at the desk so clicked on the button to get his attention at the front desk. During the check in process, since he did not offer anything about the property, or inform us of what the hotel offered I asked about breakfast. He stated they had a hot breakfast, however, if I am leaving early there would be cereal available for us. Wow for the price you pay, you only get cereal in the morning when in fact they could have put the waffle batter in the machine and heated up the waffle griddle in no time???? I understand about the other hot items, however, the waffle machine does not take much to start up. That morning when we went to the breakfast and we had to ask for milk for our cereal. The girl at the desk was like rolling her eyes as if we were bothering her. She did not smile or greet us. I asked about the hard boiled eggs and she said I guess I can unlock the refrigerator. Once she unlocked for us to get the eggs, she went back and locked it up again. Really, how crazy is that. There definitely needs to be improvement in customer service at this hotel. I have stayed here a few years ago and the service has gone down tremendously. The rooms are somewhat outdated as well. They need to be refreshed with paint touch up and new linens. The beds are terrible and need to be upgraded. I would think twice before staying here again. The price is high if you are not getting the opportunity to have a decent breakfast along with the poor customer service being offered at the hotel.

Room Tip: They do have an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
First I want to start with an apologize. I do not train my staff to treat guests in that manner. The gentleman that you spoke to should have asked you if you wished to set up a reservation. Also during the check in process the clerks are to be telling you about the property. The hours the pool is available, breakfast hours, that we have wi-fi available, where the elevator is, ice machine etc. Also there is not a problem at all with having some of the breakfast available before 6am as we understand some guests will leave prior to that time. We can have most of it available with the execepttion of the waffles, eggs, bacon and sausage. Normally we can have it out about 5am when a guests asks. Without those items this still leaves many options. The clerk working when you came down should have been friendly and had a can-attitude to assist you. I am truly unhappy that you did not have a great experience here and I can assure you that I will be speaking to my entire front desk staff in regards to this. Customer service is the most important thing you can offer a guest. I hope that you will return to us in the future to provide you another chance to show you are great customer service. Amanda Minnaert General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    34
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
68
24
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rochester
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

when we checked in we were greeted by a wonderful young man. Asked for extra pillows and brought them to us in five minutes. He is so polite. I hope he is still there next year because I enjoyed the stay so much that I'm coming back. Loved the hot breakfast, bacon and eggs are my kind of breakfast. the room was very fresh, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a cheap place to stay with indications at every turn. Only one staff person to check in a steady stream late afternoon. She tried hard, but it was obviously overwhelming. Had to go to the counter twice later on to request additional pillows as the ones on the bed are super-thin. Couldn't find anybody after ringing the bell several times, came back later and learned they didn't have any extra pillows. She did, however, improvise the best she could and provided a folded blanket. The fault wasn't hers, it is management for understaffing, having poor bedding and not enough.

Room was adequate and matched the cheap price.

Breakfast was a mess with way too many people trying to get through the small space. Big bottleneck was having only one waffle maker. The line was constant and it held up the too few tables that would otherwise clear for additional guests. Simple solution that, again, belongs to management. My wife was put off by the dry cereal dispensers identifying name brands with logos and box fronts (Honey Nut Cheerios) but actually dispensing poor quality generics. But, again, it was a cheap stay and this is what you get.

For the money, it's okay. Not worth paying more than $85 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505EDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I do sincerely apologize if your stay was not what you expected. We were not very busy and then out of no where we had 2 groups book and unfortunately I was not able to get as much additional staff in to assist as I would have liked. I was here on Saturday helping and had breakfast help on Sunday but more was needed. We will be hiring more staff for times like this. We also have started to remodel the hotel and we will be getting new linens, pillows and beds for our rooms. So you will see a better hotel with the changes that are coming. Our breakfast room gets very full when we are busy and I have ordered an additional waffle iron on Monday for busy times I am just waiting for it to arrive. Once again I do apologize that your stay was not what you expected. With comments from our guests is how we learn to improve and change. So I thank you for your comments. I hope that in the future you will provide us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was a clean, secure place to stay in Cedar Rapids. The breakfast was the one of the best free hotel breakfasts I've had! This is mainly because they had homemade muffins along with the usual fare. Yum!

The shower drained well, everything looked clean, the shower drained well, and the lobby was pretty. The hotel is located in an uncrowded area of the city.

There was a major area of plaster damage by the a/c, but it didn't affect anything. There is no refrigerator in the room. I would have loved a wastebasket in the bathroom. The internet wasn't working the night we were there, but the desk clerk was pleasant, and the manager later contacted me and gave me a small refund because of the lack of internet.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetheUSA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Cedar Rapids AmericInn. We want our guests to feel like they are at home when they are away from home. We are proud of our breakfast selection and it is great that you found what you liked.

I apologize that you were having issues with the internet during your stay. I hope the refund I provided helped. We will be looking into what we can do to make sure our guests do not have issues with the internet.

I do apologize if you room had some drywall repair issues. I can tell you that we will be having the entire hotel repainted very soon, from the common areas to the rooms and repairing the drywall issues in the walls is something that will be done prior to the painting.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future and Welcome to the End of the Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in one of the King Suites on a Thursday night. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was what one would normally expect at any Americinn.

The cost of the hotel was good, making it a good value. We selected the hotel based on reviews here on Tripadvisor which were pretty accurate. The construction of the hotel made the room very quiet, which was nice.

The bed could have used a heavier blanket, the bathroom was clean, parking and location were very convenient .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are going to be updating our bedding package very soon. I hope that when you are in the Cedar Rapids area again you will stay with us again. Welcome to the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here one night due to an early flight the next day.The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well. The staff was very helpful and helped us find a great restaurant for dinner. I have stayed in many budget airport hotels around the country and this is one of the best ones.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for one week due to truck breakdown. The staff at this hotel have been more than commendating. They have gone above and beyond any expectations with my situation. I appreciate all they have done. If I'm ever in this area needing a place to stay, I have no need to look elsewhere. Everything I need is right here. THANK YOU for all you've done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianalives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cedar Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Rapids Airport
1.4 mi away
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
#1 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
229 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
Hampton Inn Cedar Rapids
#5 of 36 in Cedar Rapids
416 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cedar Rapids
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport

Property: AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport
Address: 8910 6th St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-7053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Cedar Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Cedar Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cedar Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing