We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the detroit crust!”
Review of Tomaso's Pizza

Tomaso's Pizza
Ranked #59 of 413 Restaurants in Cedar Rapids
Restaurant details
purgatory, mn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“try the detroit crust!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This pizza was the best I've had in awhile. The Detroit crust made it for me - crispy, buttery and delicious. It's what Old Chicago wishes its "Chicago-style" crust was. It didn't hurt that I ordered a small and was brought a medium because they were out of small crusts. I still almost ate the whole thing by myself - SO GOOD!

Don't be scared by the exterior. There's nothing by way of ambiance and you order at the counter and they bring it to your table to eat off of disposable plates (that you have to get yourself, along with silverware...only napkins at the table). But that was part of its charm. And yes, it was smoky from the ovens and I smelled like Tomaso's the rest of the day, but it was a constant reminder that I need to get back there the next time I'm in Cedar Rapids.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank minalachatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Papa Smurf”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel manager (Michele) recommend this pizza place. She even when and picked it up and brought it to our room for us, at no charge. This pizza was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overrated pizza. No delivery.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pizza was OK, not great. We ordered 3 pizzas and bill was over $75. One pizza was not even cut. I would not bother again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jschuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza - Smokey Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The pizza was great, but the restaurant was quite smokey. It wasn't smokey from cigarettes, but I guess the oven. My family I went with said it was the norm and that they always leave coats and such in the car because of it. My wife and I had the thin crust, but I was jealous when I saw the Detroit/Chicago style go by. It appears to be a popular place! If it wasn't for the smoke I would have rated this a 5.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails4U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Love Tomaso's”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

All of my friends have told me that I have missed out by not ordering the Detroit style pizza, so I will try that next. I have order the New York thin crust style and it is great. Lots of toppings, crispy crust, pizza perfection!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saralynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomaso's Pizza also viewed

 
 

Been to Tomaso's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing